Antony and the Johnsons
“Swanlights (Oneohtrix Point Never Re-mix)”

Last year, Antony Hegarty remixed the title track from Oneohtrix Point Never’s Returnal (TMT Review). This year, OPN “returnals” the favor with a remix of the title track from Antony and the Johnsons’ Swanlights EP, which was released via Secretly Canadian for Commodity Fetishism Day. Check out the stream at Disco Naïveté. (via FACT)

• Oneohtrix Point Never:
• Antony and the Johnsons:
• Secretly Canadian:
• Editions Mego:


“Don’t Need It Anyway”

New video from Lexington, Kentucky’s Trailblazer. I believe that’s him in the vid, looking slightly like a woman trying to look like a greaser-man while eating a piece of chicken. It works! Check soon for a 7” on Moniker Records.

• Night People:
• Trailblazer:

Hugo Keesing


I don’t have a trendy new gothic-chilled witchouse track to post, but man I like this track too. Actually, how can you not like a mashup of hundreds of hit songs throughout American history? I’ll let, ahem, Entertainment Weekly explain:

A massive compilation of every chart-topping single from 1956 until 1992 (or, more precisely, from Dean Martin’s “Memories Are Made of This” to Whitney Houston’s “I Will Always Love You”). “Chartsweep” was originally created by pop music archivist Hugo Keesing, who based it off a syndicated radio show from his youth.

It’s actually interesting that, rather than the Beatles entries into the mashup, the Rolling Stones “Satisfaction” is the first real blast of startling rock ‘n’ roll to catch the ear. Anyway, there are a lot of tiny revelations about our nation’s musical evolution hidden in this sprawling, sometimes irritating, journey in sound.

Five Seconds Of Every #1 Pop Single Part 1 by mjs538

Five Seconds Of Every #1 Pop Single Part 2 by mjs538

• Hugo Keesing:


“Alien Observer”

Grouper, who recently dropped a double album titled A I A (TMT Review), has released a video for “Alien Observer,” if the video for “Alien Observer” above didn’t already clue you in. (via GvsB)

• Grouper:

Maria Minerva

“California Scheming”

Estonian musician Maria Minerva (Maria Juur) has a new tape, Tallinn At Dawn, on Not Not Fun. Check out the video for “California Scheming” and keep an eye out for Disko Bliss set for release on 100% Silk.

• Maria Minerva:
• Not Not Fun:

Jib Kidder


Last month, Portland’s visual/sound sampling artist Sean Schuster-Craig released a new album as Jib Kidder titled Music for Hypnotized Minds, the 11th volume in Asthmatic Kitty’s series of experimental albums (dubbed Library Catalog Series). For his fantastic entry, Schuster-Craig uses the first 10 albums in the series as source material, crafting an intriguingly catchy yet temporally-displacing set of songs. Check out the video above for “Blue,” which sees him taking a similar approach by delving into the Asthmatic Kitty video archives to construct this fitting visual accompaniment.

• Jib Kidder:
• Asthmatic Kitty:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.