Realiser [album stream]

C V L T S (not Cults or cults) come across as friendly and welcoming, but before you know it, you find yourself surrounded, enveloped, and in way too deep to get out… kind of like a cult, actually. Realiser, their new release on Belgian label Aguirre Records, runs your head through a water-logged marathon of highs and lows, ranging from drone to noise to all of that dream pop that those northern countries do so well. Yet, despite the wide range of sounds, the whole album moves in a way that feels natural. So much so that when album closer “Suki” takes all of time and throws it into the ocean to drown, you may find yourself brainwashed and swimming out to join it.

Be warned.

• C V L T S: http://cvlts.com
• Aguirre Records: http://www.aguirrecords.com

Tollund Men


Hey, Tollund Men video! Tell our readers a little bit about yourself.

“I dunno.
*shuffles feet*
“Ahh… huh.”
“Oh. I…”
“That’s stupid.”
“I think I saw it on… never mind.”
“A 7-inch this month or something.”
“Sure, whatever.”

• Tollund Men: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tollund-Men/218747341478646
• Bleak Environment: http://bleakenvironment.bigcartel.com

Killer Mike

“Big Beast” [feat. Bun B, T.I., Trouble]

With his latest LP, R.A.P. Music, Killer Mike has brought dirty south rap back to the forefront of hip-hop — albeit in a smarter, Lil Jon-less, untamed guise. The video for lead single “Big Beast” frames this triumphant cultural homecoming within a zombie vigilante film, complete with topless chicks in Day of the Dead makeup, scary Reagan masks (wait till you see who’s underneath), guns, car chases, and lots of ass whoopin’. Let this be a lesson to all you small-time thugs out there: don’t hold up a convenience store unless you want your body to be eaten by T.I.’s harem of cannibalistic beauties. Oh, and if you haven’t figured it out by now, this one’s NSFW, kiddies.

• Killer Mike: http://www.myspace.com/grindtimeonline
• Williams Street: http://www.adultswim.com/music/index.html

Evan Caminiti

“A Memory or a Mirage”

Last month, we posted Evan Caminiti’s video for “Returning Spirits,” a track off his new album Night Dust on Immune. As our scribe Strauss described it, “Caminiti once burned the Earth, but here he sets blue fire to the soul. Hear it glow.”

This glow, persistent as it is, continues in “A Memory or a Mirage,” swelling up and down, twisting, turning, folding in on itself. Heard from deep within is a lone guitar, weeping like a dweller on the threshold, surrendering eventually as it becomes increasingly consumed by the thick fog of noise. The song’s video, featuring images once again sourced by Caminiti (Barn Owl, Higuma) from YouTube, is less a narrative complement to the music as a breaking apart of the mind, where image and sound reach a mutual disconnect that indeed reflects both memory and mirage.

Night Dust is out now on LP and cassette via Immune Recordings. Look for a follow-up, Dreamless Sleep, this August on Thrill Jockey, and then keep looking, because Caminiti has released yet another new one, Not Here Not There, his first album under both a new moniker Painted Caves and his own imprint, Dust Editions.

• Evan Caminiti: http://www.electrictotem.com/?cat=15
• Immune: http://immunerecordings.net
• Painted Caves: http://paintedcaves.tumblr.com


“Rat Priest”

Oxykitten is back (!), and this video is shocking for a simple reason: you may find that it makes much more sense than it has any right to. Watching “Rat Priest,” understanding it will force you to doubt your foundational logic systems; it’ll compel you to consult a neurosurgeon to examine your spine. Who knew that your best lesson today in How Narrative Works would come from such a wonderfully twisted place.

Every element of “Rat Priest” relies on your familiarity with cultural phenomena. Yes, of course, Basic Instinct belongs at Blockbuster and nowhere else. Yes, of course, lasers make those sounds. Yes, of course, as our protagonist scrolls along his/her two-dimensional cosmic space, a slew of hostile sprites will come wave after wave to attack. Sonic and Mario led us down the rabbit hole and, behold, Oxykitten has met us on the other side. Ladies and Gentlemen, you have just witnessed a new breed of rationality born.

100 limited-edition, pro-dubbed, and imprinted cassettes of Oxykitten’s Octogonal Wax are available now from Field Hymns.

• Oxykitten: http://oxykitten.com
• Field Hymns: http://www.fieldhymns.com

Kent Alexander


I first heard Japanese producer Kent Alexander’s solo music on a compilation by label Pan Pacific Playa. His track, “Hot Girl,” stuck out like a sore thumb, an awesome tar-footed number that barely made it to the end of its nearly four-minute drag. The track wasn’t very indicative of Kent’s modus operandi, precisely because his modus operandi is so ill-defined to begin with: when he’s not producing with the Paisley Parks crew, he’s jumping from club to crunkcore to moombahton to chill without skipping a beat (unless it’s intentional), to sometimes mixed results.

But “羅生門学園” (“Rashomon School”) is something different altogether. It’s playful, hyperactive, and cutting like the rest of his tracks, but here Kent is continually screwing with the beats, the tempo, the flow, the samples, flipping shit every handful of measures — a je ne sais quoi obscured and in perpetual flux. Check it out here:

• Kent Alexander: http://soundcloud.com/kent045
• Paisley Parks: http://soundcloud.com/paisleyparks
• Pan Pacific Playa: http://www.panpacificplaya.jp/blog


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.