Colin Stetson
Those Who Didn’t Run EP

As our relentless and rigorously up to date news team reported, Colin Stetson has released a new EP. Now that we are able to listen to the two new songs, thanks to the valiant efforts of Constellation, we can indeed confirm that he plays saxophone on it. It’s the same story as before: one man, one huge hunk of brass, one take for every song. It nevertheless remains an undeniable mystery how he manages to make one instrument simultaneously produce throaty drones, weighty percussion, and the occasional soaring vocal melody. Simultaneously! And before you ask, there ain’t no tricks, and he isn’t fiddling around with any of that electronic nonsense (for the disbelievers, we have video evidence). So enjoy 20 minutes listening to a guy for which breathing is a secondary concern.

• Colin Stetson:
• Constellation:

Kurt Vile

“Life’s a Beach”

A veteran of The War on Drugs, Kurt Vile has now graduated to the war on manhood. As my monster colleague recently pointed out, age anxiety seems to be one of Vile’s central motifs on his upcoming EP, So Outta Reach. “I want to be a boy, don’t want to be a man,” he sings in this track’s first line; from there, it’s all about repression of the grown-up stuff. Musically, it’s more of the same Vile goodness that we’ve come to expect. “Life’s a beach,” the titular chorus, is a cliché lyric, but that’s the point — of course, we all wish that we could have an endless summer, but most all of us know we can’t, and ergo, alas: life’s a bitch. Vile’s not really offering a refutation to the bitchness, but a veiled, reluctant acceptance. The pretty drawl of it! The delicious haze! But, then again, I bet Mr. Vile doesn’t actually mean this stuff, because if he really wanted to hang with the kids, he’d surely be making some hairy, brolicious dubstep….

The So Outta Reach EP is out November 8 on Matador Records.

• Kurt Vile:
• Matador Records:

[Photo: Shawn Brackbill]


All Saints March I [preview]

My editor Keith and I were talking the other day about doom. I’m totes out on my doom game, and he suggested I track a track down and write that shit up. And I love finding new jams. Who don’t? But when I find hot new doom jammers I dig (these dudes ain’t that new), I shit my pants. I’m still sitting in shit because the raga-doom murk Bong puts out earns it. This sample track is live, too. Talk about taking it to the next level. It’s like how sunn 0))) takes it to the next level live, but when you see Stephen O’Malley take a sip of Bud in a window of fog, it’s minus two points. Plus ten points to Bong for their newest live slow-banger All Saints March I on Brave Mysteries.

• Bong:
• Brave Mysteries:

Chubby Wolf

“Birthday Suit”

Chubby Wolf was the title adopted by Danet Baquet-Long, who sadly passed away in 2009, aged 26. As one half of the husband-wife duo Celer, she produced an incredible library of music for art exhibitions and labels, along with a mountain of self-released records and tapes. Dani’s husband Will, along with Digitalis records, have collected Danet’s final recordings into Turkey Decoy. Much in the vein of Celer, it’s a collection of graceful ambient drone works that meander between metallic resonance and major key harmony that can’t help but concoct a bit of nostalgia.

Songs like “Birthday Suit” are constantly shifting in subtle ways, with notes randomly piercing through the fog of noise. Apparently, it’s all made from guitars and vocals, but the process has no real connection with the results, and it’s all the better for it. It’s a fitting and welcome tribute to a wonderfully prolific and creative spirit.

• Chubby Wolf:
• Digitalis:

2 Chainz feat. T.I.

“Spend It (Remix)”

Ain’t this some shit. I’ll assume you won’t “get me wrong,” since I’m writing and you’re reading [see: @shithead], but “Spend It” has to be the greatest guilty pleasure of 2011… wait, what? T.I.? Now, this isn’t “good looking,” but money means everything these days. I don’t get paid to write this — #surprise, right? But I don’t give a shit; I like writing “I don’t give a shit.” Folks is fly, but when T.I. backs you up on I-75 because he had a car/gun fight and you miss your flight by two hours… *correction* that’s some shit.

“Spend It (Remix)” doesn’t even have a video. ( . ) ( . ) = $$$, and radio’s dead, T.I. Use the “Spend It [official video]” for an example of what parts sell. And who’s behind this 2 Chainz corporate naming? Tity Boi. His name is Tity Boi. That’s awesome. My girlfriend hates the word “titty.” Imagine if she had to call me that by name. “Imagine” is all you could do, because she’d never call me that. “Spend It [official video]” became number one as soon as the “(Remix)” hit. The shitty “[official video]” camera-in-the-cinema audio now remains a classic in my car (YouTube-bluetooth-sync). On high. T.I. wouldn’t name his baby Mercedes.

I don’t know when the 2 Chainz album will hit, but impulse buy that shit. Why. Not. ‘_’

• 2 Chainz:

The Cats Orchestra


Equal parts Scott Walker and eerie, melting lounge music, Moscow’s Nicholay Syrov (The Cats Orchestra) is definitely traversing an unusual path in the ever-expanding DIY tape scene. Or maybe it’s just part of this whole ‘New Weird Russia’ thing I keep hearing about. Either way, the slight skewing of instrumentation and recognizable musical elements gives pretty much all of Coffee Killer (out now on Already Dead Tapes) a drunken, zombie-music vibe. The original seed of a song seems to be present, albeit coated in peeling flesh and a rotting odor. To quote the label, you probably won’t come across something quite like this anytime soon.

• The Cats Orchestra:
• Already Dead:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.