Coyote Image Classic
“Untitled” [excerpt]

Grant and Rachel Evans, owners of the most-perfect-name-for-what-the-band-sounds-like name (Quiet Evenings), have… well, they have a new name, Coyote Image Classic. Don’t worry, I don’t think “Quiet Evenings” is necessarily going away, and this excerpt from the duo’s new double cassette on their Hooker Vision imprint does carry a different flavor to their more familiar configuration. Here we have “twin meanderings” as they describe them, the two gracefully breaking shackles of synth to tackle new textures that come across incredibly humble and slight. I know that Grant has been experimenting with homemade records lately on his solo work as Crippling with completely bizarre results, and I can’t help but suspect some of that stuff enters here with these tones and their squishy compositions. This excerpt makes the unique approach seem fully functional and realized, a gorgeous accompaniment for the unassumingly beautiful melodies that sway right alongside.

• Hooker Vision:

Laurel Halo

“Sunlight On the Faded”

According to Hyperdub’s Twitter, Laurel Halo’s Quarantine will be topping that illustrious of music nerd year-end lists, Joseph Davenport’s Top 50 Albums of 2012…. oh yeah, and that other one from The Wire too I guess. She’s taking a victory lap by dropping yet another slab of vinyl just for me (and you too; don’t get all jealous) also via Hyperdub in the form of the “Sunlight On the Faded” single, which you can stream right here in this very post.

• Laurel Halo:
• Hyperdub:

Rites Wild

“Ways Of Being”

Hot off the press at Not Not Fun Records is the debut album from Australian jamstress Stacy Wilson, who records as Rites Wild. Layered repetitive synth lines, echoing cosmic-zaps on dizzying drum machines, and hazy psychedelic vocals make for a classic and refreshing listen. Here you can hear “Ways of Being,” the title track from Rites Wild’s new release, which is a compilation of tracks from some of her past tapes and a few fresh tunes as well.

• Rites Wild:
• Not Not Fun:

En / Jefre Cantu-Ledesma


Last spring, ambient adventurers En (who are Maxwell August Croy, who helps run the label Root Strata in San Francisco, and James Devanne, who shares the same name as my cousin in Oklahoma), went on tour in Japan with Grouper. On this journey, En discovered new places and began to construct a piece called “Blood.”

Then they got back to Cali and gave all their friends little souvenirs from Japan. And when they met their good friend Jefre Cantu-Ledesma (who co-founded Root Strata with Croy), they gave him a Clefairy keychain and a copy of their new recording of “Blood.” JCL dug it and recorded two variations on the piece; one is a minute-and-a-half bloodbath of static and noise, and the other is the growling evil twin to En’s masterpiece “Blood.”

Today, we can get the split cassette compilation of the three pieces from Constellation Tatsu.

• En:
• Jefre Cantu-Ledesma:
• Constellation Tatsu:


“Forever Midnight”

When you move them legs that fast, the spray-painted dance floor behind the town grocery store becomes an alter, onlookers drop to they knees, and your gaze freezes in focus: “Forever Midnight.” Goldendust sprinkles down from fingertips and stick to your pours beading sweat and silhouetted against glaring car headlights. And Goldendust shines like a star in the sense of awe. As a statued goddess, but in the quickest motion, you appear poised; your movement is so fast it’s questionably real. Without Wet Hair, your pal Justin Thye dryly, in relentless strive for freshness, lays down that doom-funk melody while walking a spiraling high-hat and hip-swaying kick/snare around the dance floor circle. Onlookers sway and vocals reverberate throughout the back alley. The Iowa City air breezes on past, and the stench of creativity stirs the crowed. The dance circle becomes filled, stretching beyond the point of “Forever Midnight” and into the Goldendust of the morning. DEAL IT (i.e., “Order the Featureless Ghost + Goldendust LP’s together and get $5 off. Email for Sale Orders: NPorders at”)!!!!!

• Night People:

Food Pyramid & Roy Orb D.M.T.


I’m going to make an entire mixtape out of songs that begin with the sound of rushing water, and I think “Windsong,” the first track off of Food Pyramid & Roy Orb D.M.T. collaboration Arp Navigators, will start the whole thing. It will be like a good short story. The kaleidoscope synth washes will help establish the setting, letting the listener know what they are getting into. Subtle hints of melody like a real solid introvert of a main character. And that smattering of drum noises alluding to what is likely to come later in the mix. Sometimes I worry that all of my creative writing classes have ruined how I listen to music.

Listen to “Windsong” below, forget everything I just said, and decide for yourself what you think of it! The entirety of Arp Navigators will be available December 4 as Moon Glyph’s 50th label release.

• Food Pyramid:
• Moon Glyph:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.