When mechanical samples are charged upside depictions of wildlife, a distinct bitterness is often left behind that amplifies incompatible forces. But when the mix is accomplished with care, it can be most affecting; instead of ad-hoc displays in opposition, there exists a fusion, a meeting point that allows for potential in the two approaches working together. Such visions are often explored in electronic music with varying intent; as a conscious reflection of environmental detriment, as “consolidations of Utopian excess,” or for the sheer thrill of aesthetic alignment.

On his debut offering, Greg Saldate (a.k.a. Creme, a.k.a. Mazzy Star’s nephew!) makes a series of charming juxtapositions, which integrate conflicting ideals in the confides of his 28-minute beat-tape, Lush. Saldate’s recordings have been prepared specifically for cassette, and they sound superb in their blending of rainforest imagery, scraps of dialogue, and the hip-hop beat that fastens it all delicately together à la D/P/I.

Rolling out of Pasadena, CA, Colossal Tapes’ second release finds Creme bridging abstract vocal samples with snippets of Chinese harp, fumbled currency, and an ever-present aquatic drift that swirls throughout this gorgeous sonic collage.

Listening to Lush on its intended format comes highly recommended — grab your copy here and check out the Bandcamp stream while you wait for it to arrive!

• Creme:
• Colossal Tapes:

Rob Magill

Cigarette Smoke Perfume / The Apologetic Media

FUCK on Rob Magill’s boogie, yo! Either match his creativity musically, rival his modern singer-songwriter penning, or dwell in the crippled embrace he continuously strengthens and allows to loosen within each of his releases. His newest releases, Cigarette Smoke Perfume and The Apologetic Media, breathe every bit of emotion imaginable in and out of your psyche. Tracks pop like brain bubbles of discomfort and fluff, terror and ease, dread and delight; again, fuck with Rob Magill’s artistry and see what colors you find!

Obviously making music isn’t enough for the fellah either, because Mr. Magill has begun a new label called Weirdcry Records, a name that perfectly complements the man’s voice, sax, sounds, drones, and [every other instrumentation and vocalization] included in any release of his ever. Outside of his own works, the new label will soon stock CDs and LPs by associated bands and pal’s He Run, Char-man, El Barbaro, The Redundant Orchestra Ensemble, Hazardous Waste, Dreamcolour, Nocturnal Dance Concert, and Earthsurfers. First up and out NOW on Weirdcry Records is the 2xCD of Cigarette Smoke Perfume and The Apologetic Media, so scope or DIE. Not really, but stream ‘em below to experience a variety of new feelings and/or e-mail the man via his CONTACT link on the Weirdcry website to grip on them discs and send him love:

ALSO!!!! Our boy Rob is playing with Horse Lords and Warm Climate October 18 at (the) Handbag Factory in LA. Someone fly me out to attend this event OR video (strictly VHS) the entire thing! See you there?

• Rob Magill:
• Weirdcry Records:

Burial & Four Tet


I imagine “Burial & Four Tet” works like a kind of magnet for your cursor. Or a flashing light on a homepage filled with news, reviews, and album art. Do you press play before or after you read this? Probably best not to bring up inquiries questioning the value of music journalism when there are more important things to talk about (like this collaboration), but I figured you were already here, so I might as well wear my journalist heart on my sleeve for you all to see.

Hey guys: check out this unreleased collaborative track between Burial and Four Tet! “I hope someone’s recording this for YouTube.” That Hebden dude dropped it on the UK’s Rinse FM listeners during his recent eight-hour DJ set, which still doesn’t claim my Favorite Marathon DJ Set spot on my “Favorite Things That Have Happened” list.

Listen to it below. The whole song has been Buri(al)ed, but you can still hear a few Four Tet button presses and knob turns through the six feet of weightless dirt.

• Four Tet:
• Rinse FM:

Bonglestar Galactabong

“At Night”

If it’s OK with you guys, I’m just going to keep sharing Bonglestar Galactabong tracks as long as he keeps uploading them. Here’s a new one I’m inclined to let his own SoundCloud tagging describe for me, mostly because I’m lazy and trying to sit here high while enjoying “At Night” uninterrupted, something stuff like thinking and Chocolate Grinder typing can easily get in the way of doing freely. Therefore, in the SoundCloud-tagged words of Mr. Galactabong himself, here is what “At Night” is kind of like:

smoke a bowl

Done. That was easy. Stream “At Night” below and feel them tags:

• Bonglestar Galactabong:

Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire

“Untitled” (feat. Chance The Rapper)

Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire just released Kismet: Blue Edition mixtape, festooned with some new commentary, bonus tracks, and some super-creepy album art. One of the recently-unveiled tracks is his”Untitled” collaboration with Chance The Rapper. “Untitled” is a woozy, slow-burning jam that could totally pass for dancehall if you were listening to riding a rift in the space-time continuum. The warped, liminal synth samples are barely present, cutting off without warning and giving plenty of leeway to the freakish screams that frequently pop up in the periphery. eXquire uses Dot Da Genius’ disorienting track as the fulcrum for his own ambles through the ambiguous (“How you court your demons with the same lips that you kiss your mama with? Suck vagina with?”) and the angsty (“Should I really give my soul to y’all?”). It’s not a total downer, though — Chance’s silly, stoned theatrics on the hook lend the entire track a blissful cadence that makes it easy to forget that its creators are grappling with some stark moral dilemmas. Hey, nobody ever said they were lacking passion.

Stream “Untitled” by Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire featuring Chance The Rapper below:

• Mr. Muthafuckin’ eXquire:
• Chance The Rapper:

Diamond Black Hearted Boy

zᵉʳº / “Jacksonville Extended Stay Hotel Selfish Intellectual Blues”

Diamond Black Hearted Boy (a.k.a. Chino Amobi) has just dropped a three-track follow-up to his bizarre Father, Protect Me album from earlier this year. While that release explored an intoxicatingly ineffable darkness through various stylistic, dissociative permutations, his new release (whose cover art features model Barbara Palvin, for no apparent reason) is much more straightforward but no less weird: each song consists of someone on loop saying “zero,” with the occasional ambient swell and whispered “I miss you” peppered throughout. In fact, if I’m not mistaken, all three tracks are the same, despite their titles indicating different versions. But this is perhaps DBHB’s oblique strategy, underscoring the very important idea that even repetition is a form of change.

Meanwhile, Diamond Black Hearted Boy also just updated his SoundCloud account with a new track called “Jacksonville Extended Stay Hotel Selfish Intellectual Blues.” It’s really quite amazing. I’ll spare you my interpretation and let you just bathe in it:

• Diamond Black Hearted Boy:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.