Crooked Fingers
“Gentle On My Mind” [John Hartford cover]

Eric Bachmann (a.k.a. Crooked Fingers) will release a new EP, Reservoir Songs Volume II, on Foreign Leisure. The release, Bachmann’s second EP of covers, will be available digitally and on vinyl, funded by you via Kickstarter. The EP has a July 6 release date. OH MY GOD FUND IT NOW!

• Eric Bachmann:
• Foreign Leisure:
• Kickstarter:

So Percussion / Matmos


The Chocolate Grinder loves So Percussion. The Chocolate Grinder also loves Matmos. Here’s the first track off So Percussion and Matmos’ upcoming collaboration album, Treasure State, due July 8 digitally and July 13 via Cantaloupe. (The Chocolate Grinder loves Cantaloupe too, by the way.)

• So Percussion:
• Matmos:
• Cantaloupe:


“Party With Children”

“Party With Children” is off Ratatat’s new album, LP4, due June 8 on XL Recordings. Let’s just hope this party isn’t sexual in nature.

• Ratatat:
• XL Recordings:

Gabriel Prokofiev

Import/Export: Suite for Global Junk [performed by Powerplant]

If you love the music that the Chocolate Grinder loves, then you too might love music composed of packaging materials like Glass Fanta bottles, plastic bags, oil drums, and wooden pallets. Check out excerpts of Import/Export: Suite for Global Junk, a multimedia piece by Gabriel Prokofiev, as performed by Powerplant. Naxos of America will release a CD/DVD set this month.

• Gabriel Prokofiev:
• Naxos of America:


“Evil Guh”

Jookabox, led by David “Moose” Adamson, are currently on tour right now (TMT News), but you know what? We’re happy watching online music videos in the safety of our homes, thank you very much. “Evil Guh” is off Dead Zone Boys, released last year on Asthmatic Kitty, but if you don’t feel like going out, you should order it online. After all, it’s a cold, brutal world out there — war, terrorism, oil spills — so I don’t blame you one bit. I mean, sometimes I really wonder if life is even worth living. Sigh… Anyway, have a great weekend!!

• Jookabox:
• Asthmatic Kitty:


“In Which I, Robert”

Inter Arbiter is due April 20th via twosyllable Records. I know this because I copy/pasted that sentence from a press release.

• Inlets:
• twosyllable Records:

[Photo: Kristianna Smith]


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.