David Vandervelde
“Checkin Out My Baby”

“Checkin Out My Baby” will be released on a limited-to-300 12-inch EP called Summer Time Hits. It’ll be available on David Vandervelde’s upcoming tour with Black Mountain, via Secretly Canadian on August 3, or streaming right here at the Chocolate Grinder. Choose your poison.

• David Vandervelde: http://www.myspace.com/davidvandervelde
• Secretly Canadian: http://www.secretlycanadian.com

Chocolate Grinder Mix 33

“Son of Bass In Yer Goat’s Face”

In a world where electronic music is expected to sit quietly at the back of the room and not bother anyone, where pop, hip-hop, and indie rock take significant elements or even genres and claim them as their own discovery, one mix tape has decided it just won’t take it any more. Out for revenge, with the taste of human blood on its tongue, “Son of Bass In Yer Goat’s Face” is here to restore rumbling lower frequencies, get-up beats, ominous pads, and tweaked-out leads to their deserved prominence. Play it loud and rock out, no matter who’s watching.

01. Kikumoto Allstars - “Shed 13” (House Music)
Start time: 0:00; Links: International Deejay Gigolo Records - Kikumoto Allstars

02. Genuine Guy - “Jealous Swingers” (Jealous Swingers EP)
Start time: 5:00; Links: Tigerbass - Genuine Guy

03. Milanese - “The End (Untold Remix)” (Lockout)
Start time: 8:50; Links: Planet Mu - Milanese

04. Mimosa - “The Unseen” (Flux For Life)
Start time: 13:35; Links: Muti Music - Mimosa

05. T.O.B. - “Evolutionary feat. Nonku” (Evolutionary single)
Start time: 17:20; Links: Muti Music- T.O.B.

06. King Cannibal - “Downtime” (Downtime single)
Start time: 22:41; Links: Ninja Tune - King Cannibal

07. Kid606 - “Samhain Atlanta” (Dance With The Chorizo)
Start time: 26:08; Links: Tigerbeat6 - Kid606

08. Echaskech - “The Storm (Kraddy Requiem Remix)” (The Calm Before The Storm EP)
Start time: 30:20; Links: Just Music - Echaskech

09. Annie - “My Love Is Better (Sunkh Knight Remix)” (My Love Is Better single)
Start time: 35:21; Links: Smalltown Supersound - Annie

10. Randy Twigg - “Assassin (Kidz On Acid Instrumental Remix)” (Randy Twigg vs Tigerbass EP)
Start time: 40:26; Links: Tigerbass - Randy Twigg

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]

The Flaming Lips

“The Sparrow Looks Up at the Machine”

This video is not safe for work, unless you work at Guantanamo Bay.

• The Flaming Lips: http://www.flaminglips.com

Pantha du Prince

“Welt Am Draht” [Animal Collective remix]

OH MY GOD A NEW ANIMAL COLLECTIVE TRACK! Kinda. Pantha du Prince, a.k.a. German musician/producer Hendrick Weber, has tapped Animal Collective to remix “Welt Am Draht” (translation: World on Wires), a song off this year’s Black Noise. The album also features a track with Panda Bear, but you already knew that.

• Pantha du Prince: http://www.panthaduprince.com
• Rough Trade: http://www.roughtrade.com

Gil Scott-Heron

“I’m New Here”

Gil Scott-Heron is new here, according to his new video “I’m New Here.”

• Gil Scott-Heron: http://gilscottheron.net

Bobby Birdman

“Weighty Wait” / “You’d Be Surprised”

Bobby Birdman is the shit: he performed “Weighty Wait” on the underside of an abandoned shipping dock and “You’d Be Surprised” on the upper section of the dock. Both songs are off last year’s New Moods, released on Portland label Fryk Beat. Again, Bobby Birdman is the shit.

• Bobby Birdman: http://www.myspace.com/bobbbirdman
• Fryk Beat: http://www.frykbeat.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.