Dead Meadow
“That Old Temple”

Dead Meadow PR (who else!):

A video for the song “That Old Temple” by Dead Meadow has just surfaced (click link above). The video was helmed by Artificial Army who have previously worked with recording artists The Sword, The Mars Volta, Coheed & Cambria and These Arms Are Snakes. The song and the video provide the first glimpse of The Three Kings multi-media project to surface later this year on Xemu ( which will include new music from the band as well as re-recorded classics from their catalogue.

• Dead Meadow:

Eat Skull

“Don’t Leave Me on the Speaker”

Portland’s Eat Skull are releasing a “Jerusalem Mall” 7-inch on January 26 via Woodsist. It’s backed with two Sick to Death outtakes: “Thank You Smoke Break” and the track above, “Don’t Leave Me on the Speaker.”

• Eat Skull:
• Woodsist:


“Foam Hands” (Destroyer Cover)

Here’s Portastatic covering Destroyer’s “Foam Hands.” From Big Mac:

The idea for a whole EP of Merge covers stemmed from both listening to the SCORE! Merge covers compilation and from doing bookstore events to promote the Our Noise book, wherein we’d play some acoustic covers of songs that came out on Merge. Time permitting, this really could have been a much longer record, but in the spirit of quitting while I was ahead and also turning this in before the end of the year, I stopped at seven songs. Obviously, the Merge catalog is full of hundreds—thousands, actually—of songs I love, so I picked ones I either knew well or thought I could re-create without defiling too harshly. It wasn’t easy to narrow down, so I just tried not to think about it too much, and then time constraints set in…

• Portastatic:
• Merge:

David Byrne

“Please Don’t” (feat. Santigold)

David Byrne + Santigold. Byrne’s project Here Lies Love with Fatboy Slim is due February 23.

• David Byrne:
Here Lies Love:
• Nonesuch:


“But It’s So”

From Killer Pimp:

Soundpool is a 5-piece band from NYC whose third album is their dive into uncharted realms of shoegaze-disco. Ulrich Schnauss calls them the “greatest f-n band in the world.”

The track is off Soundpool’s upcoming album Mirrors In Your Eyes, due early this year. The 7-inch single with B-side “Makes No Sense” is out January 26.

• Soundpool:
• Killer Pimp:


“Final Breath”

From Earsplit:

[“Final Breath”] closes the band’s new album What We All Come To Need, released by Southern Lord Records in late October. This track in particular breaks new ground for PELICAN, as the band’s first song to feature vocals! With video direction by Matt Santoro, known for his gorgeous and otherworldly conceptual work, the song comes to life as an entirely new entity within the video.”

• Pelican:
• Southern Lord:



  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.