“The Merry Barracks”

Deerhoof are back: the group’s new album, Deerhoof vs. Evil, is due January 25 on their new label, Polyvinyl Records. Traitors! JK!

• Deerhoof:
• Polyvinyl:

Avey Tare

“Lucky 1”

Down There. October 26. Paw Tracks. Etc.

• Avey Tare:
• Paw Tracks:

A Classic Education

“I Lost Time”

Here is A Classic Education’s video for “I Lost Time.” The track is off the Hey There Stranger EP, which was released last month on the sexy-but-I-can’t-have-none-of-it-because-I’m-married Lefse.

• A Classic Education:
• Lefse:

Avey Tare

“Lucky 1”

Avey Tare, drummer of The Animal Collection, will be releasing his first solo album, Down There, on October 26 via Paw Tracks (Ani DiFranco’s label). Aside from Animal Collection releases, Avey also released Pullhair Rubeye in 2007 with Icelandic singer Björk. It caused quite the controversy because the album was spread across four discs intended to be played simultaneously. Meanwhile, The Animal Collection released a film on DVD called ODDSAC, which tells the story of a bunch of people humping trashcans. Björk starred in the film and sang a duet with Muse singer Tom Yorke.

• Paw Tracks:

Flavorpill Fix Episode Four

Cerebral Ballzy, Soft Circle, Ghost Mall [curated by Japanther]

It was only a matter of time before the awesome Flavorpill Fix got even awesomer. For this installment of Flavorpill’s online video series, Japanther not only collect live footage and videos from Cerebral Ballzy, Soft Circle, and Ghost Mall, but they also create animations of interviews they conducted with the bands! Meanwhile, the Flavorpill Fix will start airing every Wednesday at 10:30 PM on New York’s TV station, NYC life. Head over to Flavorwire for more information about the show and life in general.

• Flavorwire:

Antony and the Johnsons

“Thank You for Your Love”

You’ve heard the song before, now you can watch the video. Expect to smell it soon.

Antony’s new album, Swanlights, is due tomorrow via Secretly Canadian and Rough Trade.

• Antony and the Johnsons:
• Secretly Canadian:
• Rough Trade:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.