Disco Doom
“Star Drone”

Zurich’s Disco Doom is set to release their new album, Trux Reverb, on The Static Cult. The group, which features Gabriele De Mario (guitar, vocals) and Anita Rufer (guitar, bass), is currently on a tour that includes several performances at this stupid festival called SXSW. Check out the dates at the band’s website.

• Disco Doom: http://www.discodoom.net
• The Static Cult: http://www.thestaticcultlabel.com

Jorma & Movie Bare

“Either You Or Me”

Jorma & Movie Bare’s Lollipop Gold is out now on St. Ives, vinyl-only and limited. Some members literally divorced while recording the album. Yikes.

• Jorma & Movie Bare: http://www.myspace.com/moviebare
• St. Ives: http://stivesrecords.tumblr.com

Ford & Lopatin

“Channel Pressure” [preview]

Ford & Lopatin, formerly known as Games, will release Channel Pressure on June 7 via Mexican Summer/Software (TMT News). The above video is a preview for the album. WHAT ELSE WOULD YOU LIKE TO KNOW, MASTER??

• Ford & Lopatin: http://wayslower.tumblr.com
• Software: http://softwarelabel.net
• Mexican Summer: http://www.mexicansummer.com

[Photo: David Black]


“Chthonian (James Plotkin remix)”

James Plotkin has remixed two tracks from Zu’s Carboniferous, an album we cherish like an old friend at TMT. If James would have fucked this up, he would never have been forgiven. Pick up the limited 7” at Public Guilt or listen to “Chthonian” above.

• Zu: http://www.myspace.com/zuband
• Public Guilt: http://www.publicguilt.com
• James Plotkin: http://www.plotkinworks.com



Over the last several years, Erik Skodvin’s Miasmah imprint has released some fantastic albums by Marcus Fjellströn, FNS, Simon Scott, Svarte Greiner, and (TMT favorite) Kreng. I’d like to add Juv’s new self-titled album to the list. The music was actually recorded between 1996 and 1998, but the Norwegian duo of Are Mokkelbost and Marius von der Fehr just couldn’t get along well enough to finish the album. Thirteen years later, they put their differences aside and finally completed the album, and it’s being released tomorrow.

The video above is for “Forvarsel,” with images from a silent film, Forsvinningens Gang, by Iselin Lønn. If you’re a fan of minimalism, drone, field recordings, and microtonal music, there’s nothing stopping you from listening to the full album except you. Stream the full album below (be sure to listen to “Sut”!) and purchase the album here:

• Miasmah: http://www.miasmah.com

Therapies Son

Over The Sea [EP]

I wrote music when I was 19. It was really shitty. Alex Jacob, on the other hand, is only 19 but writing decidedly non-shitty music under the moniker Therapies Son. His debut EP, Over the Sea, features five tracks of sublime glimmering, glistening, and glittering — listen to it and you’ll know what I’m talking about — a combination that suits his brand of retro-pop well. It’s a pretty cinematic and hopeful aesthetic for music inspired by a broken heart.

Over the Sea is due digitally March 22 and on vinyl April 16 (Record Store Day) via Sargent House. Listen to the full EP here (and here):

• Therapies Son: http://www.myspace.com/therapiessonmusic
• Sargent House: http://www.sargenthouse.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.