“Meanstreak (in 3 Parts)”

El-P’s one mean motherfucker. AND SO ARE YOU. P’s new album, Weareallgoingtoburninhellmegamixxx3, is set for release August 3 via Gold Dust.

• El-P: http://el-p-weareallgoingtoburninhell.com
• Gold Dust: http://www.golddust-media.com



Richmond, VA’s Cristal are set to release their latest full-length, Homegoing, on the always awesome FSS label. The album shows the group — Jimmy Anthony, Gregg Darden and Bobby Donne (with Taylor Burton on cello) — expanding their experimental sonics into more melodic territory — relatively speaking, of course. While the album will be available separately, the label is also pressing 500 copies of a Cristal 7-inch (with two vinyl-only tracks — “Swedish Child,” “Trial”) that includes a download code for the full Homegoing album. Music made easy, my friends. The 7-inch and album combo is set for release on July 19.

• Cristal: http://www.myspace.com/cristalsound
• FSS: http://www.flingcosound.com


Bubblegum [megamix]

Domino has released a “unique megamix” of Clinic’s forthcoming sixth album, Bubblegum. The album is due on October 4 (in the UK). You’re welcome!

• Clinic: http://www.clinicvoot.org
• Domino: http://www.dominorecordco.com

Blonde Redhead

“Here Sometimes”

No details yet on the new Blonde Redhead record, but we do have a brand new track. Tasty!

• Blonde Redhead: http://www.blonde-redhead.com
• 4AD: http://www.4ad.com

David Vandervelde

“Checkin Out My Baby”

“Checkin Out My Baby” will be released on a limited-to-300 12-inch EP called Summer Time Hits. It’ll be available on David Vandervelde’s upcoming tour with Black Mountain, via Secretly Canadian on August 3, or streaming right here at the Chocolate Grinder. Choose your poison.

• David Vandervelde: http://www.myspace.com/davidvandervelde
• Secretly Canadian: http://www.secretlycanadian.com

Chocolate Grinder Mix 33

“Son of Bass In Yer Goat’s Face”

In a world where electronic music is expected to sit quietly at the back of the room and not bother anyone, where pop, hip-hop, and indie rock take significant elements or even genres and claim them as their own discovery, one mix tape has decided it just won’t take it any more. Out for revenge, with the taste of human blood on its tongue, “Son of Bass In Yer Goat’s Face” is here to restore rumbling lower frequencies, get-up beats, ominous pads, and tweaked-out leads to their deserved prominence. Play it loud and rock out, no matter who’s watching.

01. Kikumoto Allstars - “Shed 13” (House Music)
Start time: 0:00; Links: International Deejay Gigolo Records - Kikumoto Allstars

02. Genuine Guy - “Jealous Swingers” (Jealous Swingers EP)
Start time: 5:00; Links: Tigerbass - Genuine Guy

03. Milanese - “The End (Untold Remix)” (Lockout)
Start time: 8:50; Links: Planet Mu - Milanese

04. Mimosa - “The Unseen” (Flux For Life)
Start time: 13:35; Links: Muti Music - Mimosa

05. T.O.B. - “Evolutionary feat. Nonku” (Evolutionary single)
Start time: 17:20; Links: Muti Music- T.O.B.

06. King Cannibal - “Downtime” (Downtime single)
Start time: 22:41; Links: Ninja Tune - King Cannibal

07. Kid606 - “Samhain Atlanta” (Dance With The Chorizo)
Start time: 26:08; Links: Tigerbeat6 - Kid606

08. Echaskech - “The Storm (Kraddy Requiem Remix)” (The Calm Before The Storm EP)
Start time: 30:20; Links: Just Music - Echaskech

09. Annie - “My Love Is Better (Sunkh Knight Remix)” (My Love Is Better single)
Start time: 35:21; Links: Smalltown Supersound - Annie

10. Randy Twigg - “Assassin (Kidz On Acid Instrumental Remix)” (Randy Twigg vs Tigerbass EP)
Start time: 40:26; Links: Tigerbass - Randy Twigg

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.