High Places
“Year Off”

High Places have a new album, best friends! It’s called Original Colors, and it’s due October 11 on Thrill Jockey. I broke into TJ headquarters and stole the above stream just for you, so you better listen to it or I’ll stab you in the face.

• High Places: http://hellohighplaces.blogspot.com
• Thrill Jockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com

High Places

“Year Off”

High Places have a new album, best friends! It’s called Original Colors, and it’s due October 11 on Thrill Jockey. I broke into TJ headquarters and stole the above stream just for you, so you better listen to it or I’ll stab you in the face.

• High Places: http://hellohighplaces.blogspot.com
• Thrill Jockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com

Jens Lekman

“An Argument With Myself”

Sound the bells! Jens Lekman, the fruit-bearer from Sweden, is sharing a new song with us. It’s called “An Argument With Myself,” and it’s the title track off his forthcoming five-track EP, due September 20 via Secretly Canadian. Hey, didn’t I tell you to sound those fucking bells?

• Jens Lekman: http://www.jenslekman.com
• Secretly Canadian: http://www.secretlycanadian.com

[Photo: Erica Kahr]

Bill Orcutt

“How The Thing Sings”

First off, I love Editions Mego. Not only is the label responsible for one of the most provocative releases of the year, but it also releases amazing music from sub labels Spectrum Spools (curated by Emeralds’ John Elliott) and Ideologic Organ (curated by Stephen O’Malley). Soon, eMego will be releasing a new album from Bill Orcutt, ex-guitarist for Harry Pussy. It’s titled How The Thing Sings, and it’s due September 20.

• Editions Mego: http://editionsmego.com

Kyle Andrews

“Make Me Feel Human (Chrissy Murderbot DUB RMX)”

When he’s not eating Doritos at the local Holiday Inn, Nashville’s Kyle Andrews is electro-popping in the underground with some seriously saccharine songs. And guess what? He’s got a new album, Robot Learn Love, and it’s due this month. One of its tracks, “Make Me Feel Human,” has been remixed and dubbed out by the one and only Chicago DJ Chrissy Murderbot. According to Chrissy: “When I first heard the track, I realized pretty immediately that I wanted to make two versions of my remix — one with the full vocals that’s more like a pop song for people to listen to in the car or at work or whatever, and then a more dubbed-out, stripped-down mix for slutty 6am sunrise loft party dancefloor madness.”

Hear the original, non-slutty version of “Make Me Feel Human” off the new album August 16.

• Kyle Andrews: http://kyleandrews.com
• Chrissy Murderbot: http://www.murderbot.com

Four Tet

“Locked”

Check out the new Four Tet single, which can also be heard as the closing track from the 59th Fabric mix series. For those wondering, Fabric is not a person but a London nightclub… get with it. In related news, Four Tet continues his dive into nuanced late night minimalism while Justin Timberlake wishes he was blacker.

• Four Tet: http://www.fourtet.net/

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.