Hobo Cubes
“Structures in Stasis”

Add Debacle Records to the list of labels in the Hobo Cubes discography. On February 11, the Seattle label will release Apex Ideals, the new full-length from the Montreal project, headed by none other than Mr. Hobo Cults himself, Francesco De Gallo. “Structures in Stasis” is the first song premiered from the upcoming album and it really takes the throbbing bass vibes of that Actress album R.I.P. in the opposite direction: toward heaven instead of through the seven layers of EDM hell, but then again, it’s just the first song we’ve heard, so who knows where it will end up. Ascend.

• Hobo Cubes: http://hobocubes.bandcamp.com
• Debacle Records: http://debaclerecords.com
• Hobo Cults: http://hobocult.blogspot.com

Greg Fox

“Its OK”

4. You go back later to see. Flowers have bloomed, and they’ve turned to face the sun.

3. You plant the album on the grassy side of the frontage road where the exit feeds into your neighborhood. If anyone out there sees you and goes to scope it out after you leave, they wouldn’t even know what to do with it. You think they’d leave it be. “It’s like a coaster or something.” “Maybe it’s one of those geo-cash things.”

2. You order the plantable card for Mitral Transmissions, a new album comprising four pieces of music made by Greg Fox (Guardian Alien, Zs, GDFX, Ben Frost collabs, formerly Liturgy, etc.) to mimic and expand on his own cardiac rhythms.

1. You press play on this Soundcloud embed and listen to “Its OK” now.

2. Greg Fox squints at his computer screen as he programs intricate polyrhythms of sampled percussion and woodwinds. He adjusts the spatialization of the tones in the upper register again, panning a certain layer of chiming steel-drum melody further out to mingle with the lush electronic drones at the edges of the mix. A human heartbeat dictates the session’s pulse and intuition, looming as a patient murmur in the bass range, uniting a lattice of fluctuations into one slow, cresting breath.

3. Greg Fox straps on a bio-sensory interface that feeds data to Milford Graves’s computer.

[Graves] talks a lot about how the heartbeat contains all the rhythms that drummers play. He showed me during a session. He made a recording of my heartbeat and then we were looking at the waveform. The heartbeat has a lot more than just the ‘duh duh’ sound, there’s a lot going on you can’t hear, and he was zooming in one little part of the waveform and upped the gain, and all of a sudden you have a shuffle beat. It was like all the Casio keyboard preset rhythms are right there in the heart.

4. Greg Fox is born. His heart pumps blood through his limbs, abdomen, and brain for 28 years. He gets Milford Graves’ email address.

Mitral Transmissions will be available February 18 from Data Garden.

• Greg Fox: http://infinitelimbs.com
• Data Garden: http://datagarden.org



Sometimes it REALLY feels like “Mulatu.” Like, reality is just a systematic way of breaking down your daily cycle/life into an intricate animation penned by Jára Plachý. All you want to do is reach the top of that mountain, but the menagerie of advertisements surrounding your life is telling you people are okay; your life is okay; going 120 mph on the BQE is a worse idea than buying dinner at [a chain restaurant]. Dva understands you, though. Not only do they guide you toward the healing light of peaceful prophecy, but allow you to vent aggression by way of sonic output. By utilizing an plethora of horns, vocals, percussion, claps, shakers… “oh, just EVERYTHING!!!” …this Czech duo gets blood flowing the opposite direction, slicing you a crooked smile, and beats a path you’ve only dreamed of taking.

Dva’s new album Nipomo is poppin’ off on Northern Spy Records Feb. 25 in LP, cassette (!!!!!!!!!!!!!), CD, and digital formats. U.S. pre-orders can be placed here, and non-U.S. pre-orders over here. “Mulatu” single can be downloaded here, as you should be listening to this hourly. PeeP!

• DVA: http://www.2dva.cz/en
• Northern Spy Records: http://northernspyrecords.com



As Chocolate Grinder’s resident rap guy, I could use this occasion to bitch and moan about how Scion AV incorrectly refers toThe @MCTREEG EP as TREE’s third project; the Toyota brand’s insistence on releasing only songs with clean lyrics almost ruins the line from “Soul Trappin / I Believe” that goes “Malcolm was an addict and Versace was a—;” the cover of this release looks a hell of a lot like the cover of billy woods’ Dour Candy… But what good would bitching and moaning do?

I’ve said a lot about soul trap impresario TREE since first hearing him in early 2011, but as El Viathan can attest, my favorite thing to say about TREE is … “TREE!” [Editor’s note: Samuel is a liar, but yes this is true.] You can do it too, listener. Simply prep your voice to sound as gravelly and twangy as possible, then press your tongue to the roof of your mouthpiece and shout it out, short and sweet: “TREE!” You’ll see this works best in crowded elevators, subway cars, and other confined spaces where you find yourself in the company of complete strangers.

Download or sTREEm The @MCTREEG EP below:

• TREE: http://soultraptree.tumblr.com
• Scion AV: http://www.scionav.com

SUNUP Recordings

Living Room Visions Winter 2014

Where do I even begin? That’s the problem with writing about compilations. Especially when they are 50-tracks deep. I could go through the list of artists and mention the ones I’ve heard like luxury elite, Giant Claw, SAINT PEPSI, lockbox, and AyGeeTee, but then, for brevity’s sake, I’d be leaving out a bunch of the names I’ve heard of like Metallic Ghosts, Wakesleep, and Infinity Ghost. And that’s not to mention the other 41 names I’d be omitting like baseball cap, Cats in the Basement, and MEGA MASTER, among others. Every time I start to think I’m finally starting to catch up, batch releases, collaborations, or compilations like this happen, and I realize there is no end. The more you know, the less you realize you know. When internet storage space reaches infinity, I suppose that Faustian desire for unlimited knowledge will be at our fingertips, if only we had the time to eternally scour its depths.

Let’s see. Which track to embed here? I’m going to have to give it to Adderall Canyonly, based almost entirely on the name. I hope you didn’t have anything else you were planning on listening to today.

• SUNUP Recordings: http://sunuprecordings.bandcamp.com

Princess Nokia


The ever-illustrious Princess Nokia, formerly Wavy Spice, has declared her prominence in the NYC music scene through a tenaciously pompous swagger, exuding allure not only through her persona, but through a casually manifested musical adeptness. Her latest effort “Dragons,” exemplifies her unique artistic dexterity and exuberance by transitioning from her wonted (yet diamond) rapping abilities, instead employing a refreshing patience and care through her singing. Terrifically produced by NYC’s OWWWLS, “Dragons” begins with a quick drum and bass break beat, swiftly expanding while remaining primed for Nokia’s vocals to gently lay. The tasty combination is only complimented by its’ video which combines anime images from Dragon Ball to Winx Club with lovable footage of Princess Nokia and her sweetheart Wiki (of the very ill New York rap trio Ratking). Directed by Milah Libin and Arvid Logan, the video ends in a steamy, 40 oz shower scene; a bold cherry-on-top encapsulating the simple beauty of love, in its’ entirety. Definitely something to vibe to.

• Princess Nokia: https://soundcloud.com/wavy-spice


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.