Holiday Shores
“Spells”

Alright, so that’s a pretty awesome album cover! Can the music live up?? “Spells” is a breezy, lighthearted, possibly rollicking track. I’m into the keyboard sound they’re using and the overall relaxed feeling it evokes. (via Get Off the Coast)

• Holiday Shores: http://www.myspace.com/holidayshores
• Twosyllable Records: http://twosyllablerecords.com/

Brahms

“A Full Embrace”

I’ve really been enjoying some of the more ambient tracks over at Bridgetown Records. Jovan Moran, who records under Brahms, is a definite highlight, with vague melodic material peaking up behind a light audio fog. For more, click here to download a 21-song compilation with samples of all the label’s summer releases. Lots of unapologetic rocking goes down on this thing too, which is a great contrast over an hour’s span.

• Bridgetown: http://www.bridgetownrecords.info

Circuit des Yeux

“3311”

Circuit des Yeux (a.k.a. Haley Fohr) is back with her third full-length, Portrait. Check out the video for “3311,” which is directed by the ubiquitous Robert Beatty (Three Legged Race, Hair Police, BxC). The album’s being released by De Stijl, who also put out Circuit des Yeux’s first two albums, Symphone (2008) and Sirenum (2009).

• Circuit Des Yeux: http://myspace.com/circuitdesyeux
• Haley Fohr: http://www.hfohr.blogspot.com
• De Stijl: http://www.destijlrecs.com

Eternal Tapestry & Sun Araw

“Night Gallery III”

First there was Simon & Schuster, then there was Schwebel, Goetz & Sieben, and now, at long last, we have Eternal Tapestry & Sun Araw! On July 19, Thrill Jockey will release the debut collaborative between these two mainstays of post-(pre-)[anterior-](intra-)modern psychedelia. The album is the result of some good ol’ fashioned improv, recorded in studio during last year’s SXSW.

• Eternal Tapestry: http://www.myspace.com/eternaltapestry
• Sun Araw: http://sunaraw.com
• Thrill Jockey: http://www.thrilljockey.com
• Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com

Black Pus

“Hole in the Ground”

Brian Chippendale (Lightning Bolt, Mindflayer) is so awesome that he’s decided to release a new solo LP under his Black Pus moniker. Primordial Pus is Chippendale’s fifth BP full-length, and it’s getting some pretty wide distribution courtesy of the almighty Load Records. As the label puts it:

On Black Pus’ fifth full length, a lot of the looped drum pop that has been percolating in this project’s gene pool is drawn so much closer to the surface. Insanely long saccharine loops are pushed, pulled, screwed and tattooed all over your face. With this ammo, an enduring record of stone-etched brute pop is forged. […] As shiny as the music sounds, it differs from the prevalent 80’s styled bottom feeder hynogagic poop in its muscular wing span. Be prepared to have your senses leave your body and obsessive/compulsive jitter overtake your reason in this buffet of freon electronic entropy.

It’s all true, too. I listened to Primordial Pus this morning.

• Black Pus: http://www.myspace.com/theblackpus
• Load: http://www.loadrecords.com

Jonti

“Firework Spraying Moon”

Jonti, Stones Throw’s last signee, is a South African arranger, producer, multi-instrumentalist, and vocalist who is now arranging, producing, multi-instrumentalizing, and vocalizing in Austraila. His debut album, Twirigig, is inspired by Canadian filmmaker/cartoonist Norman Mclaren. According to Jonti, “His films are complex, but they’re still fun. You can feel his enthusiasm for techniques and experimentation. I try make simple pop songs with that same enthusiasm.”

Twirigig is out October 11 on Stones Throw and will be preceded by the “Firework Spraying Moon” 7-inch, which is out mid-August.

• Jonti: http://stonesthrow.com/jonti
• Stones Throw: http://www.stonesthrow.com

News

  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.


TMT IS SEEKING CHOCOLATE GRINDER WRITERS

Click here to apply