Jeff Mangum
“Sign The Dotted Line”

Check out the Jeff Mangum cover of Chris Knox’s “Sign the Dotted Line” at Stereogum!

[In] June of last year Knox suffered a “life altering” stroke. To help with his rehabilitation costs 33 bands have donated Knox-related covers to the double CD collection Stroke - Songs For Chris Knox. The tracklist includes Yo La Teno, Lou Barlow, Jay Reatard (RIP), David Kilgour, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Stephin Merritt, Bill Callahan, the Mountain Goats, the Chills, the Verlaines, Tall Dwarfs themselves, etc. Jeff Mangum offers a deeply felt take on “Sign The Dotted Line.”

Check out the Weeville original at It’s reported Knox is working on a new Tall Dwarfs album that includes singing but no words. The guy’s inspired. I suggest you dig deeper into this work.

Stroke is out 2/23 via Merge, where you can preview and purchase the album. The tracklist’s below. The song’s are arranged chronologically.

• Chris Knox:
• Merge:

Bob Blank on his legendary studio

From Strut:

This is the first in a series of web videos featuring Blank recounting the creation of the studio, and some of the timeless music produced there. Upcoming episodes cover work with Arthur Russell, Fonda Rae & others.

Bob Blank’s The Blank Generation: Blank Tapes NYC 1975-1985 comes out February 2 via Strut.

• Bob Blank:
• Strut:

Dirty Projectors

“Ascending Melody”

Dirty Projectors released a limited-edition 7-inch this week, featuring “Ascending Melody” and “Emblem of the World,” exclusively through Domino Mart. But you can also get the 7-inch free in MP3 form through DP’s website.

• Dirty Projectors:
• Domino:

Animal Collective


From Domino:

“Brothersport” is the new video from Animal Collective’s Merriweather Post Pavilion, directed by Jack Kubizne.

• Animal Collective:
• Domino:


“Mirror Kisses”

Citay are releasing a new LP titled Dream Get Together. Here’s a track from the album, called “Mirror Kisses.” Take a listen, and pre-order the LP here if you’d like to. BUT ONLY IF YOU’D LIKE TO.

• Citay:
• Dead Oceans:

Let's Wrestle

“We are the Men You’ll Grow to Love Soon”

Merge has recently added British rockers Let’s Wrestle to their ever-growing roster. The three-piece band’s debut full-length, In the Court of the Wrestling Let’s, is set for release March 23, and you can preview a track from it by hitting the little play button. Titled “We are the Men You’ll Grow to Love Soon,” the song was described by singer Wesley Patrick Gonzalez as “Let’s Wrestle’s Barmitzvah from whence they turned from punk pre-teens into men who rock.” FYI.

• Let’s Wrestle:
• Merge:



  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.