Joanna Newsom
“‘81”

As we recently reported over at TMT News, Joanna Newsom’s triple LP, Have One On Me, is due February 23. Check out the track “‘81” streaming at Drag City (in the upper-right corner).

• Drag City: http://www.dragcity.com

Florent Ghys

“Clignotants” and “Coma Carus”

French composer Florent Ghys has created some videos to coincide with the release of his new EP, Baroque Tardif: Soli, released today, digitally and physically, on the venerable Cantaloupe Music, home to the equally venerable Bang On A Can family. Check them out. NOW.

“Clignotants”:

“Coma Carus”:

• Florent Ghys: http://www.florentghys.com
• Cantaloupe: http://cantaloupemusic.com

Oneohtrix Point Never

“Russian Mind”

Oneohtrix Point Never made #4 on our Favorite 50 Albums of 2009. Here’s why:

From Daniel Lopatin (a.k.a. Oneohtrix Point Never):

The physicality of Nate’s work is what grabbed me, and the ways in which his videos seem to creep into your nervous system and trigger a wealth of retinal datatrash which is completely ancillary to the raw visual content presented in the videos on their own. In other words what you’re experiencing is the pooled reality of your own internal psychedelic engine and Nate’s. This isn’t unlike the binaural brainwave effect of certain OPN recordings. Also I think that on some level, we’re both invested in the idea that artistic pejoratives are largely contextual, and that by embedding fully-formed or culturally codified styles and technologies into our own personal systems, we strive to go beyond whats implicit about them historically.

Check out “Russian Mind” on Rifts, out now on No Fun Productions.

• Oneohtrix Point Never: http://www.myspace.com/pointnever
• No Fun Productions: http://www.nofunproductions.com

The White Stripes

Under Great White Northern Lights (trailer)

The White Stripes box set, Under Great White Northern Lights, is set for release March 16. The trailer above is for the documentary (of the same name) included in the set, which also contains a double LP/CD of live material, an exclusive 7-inch, a silkscreened print, and a photography book.

• The White Stripes: http://whitestripes.com

Crash Course in Science

“Flying Turns”

From Stones Throw:

Minimal Wave: both a genre of underground DIY electronic music from North America and Europe in the late 1970s and 80s, and the name of the label devoted to unearthing these recordings. The Minimal Wave Tapes is the first official anthology (on CD, LP and digital) of Minimal Wave music from this label. Most of the songs were originally released on limited edition cassettes or vinyl by the artists themselves, and only a handful of people knew about them. They’ve been remastered from their analog source tapes and compiled here by Minimal Wave’s Veronica Vasicka and Stones Throw’s Peanut Butter Wolf.

The Minimal Wave Tapes is due January 26.

• Stones Throw/Minimal Wave: http://www.stonesthrow.com/link/miniwave

Wayne Coyne

Interview about The William Blakes’ Album “Wayne Coyne”

• The Flaming Lips: http://www.flaminglips.com
• The William Blakes: http://www.myspace.com/thewilliamblakes

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.