Lil B
Trapped in BasedWorld [mixtape]

Lil B’s at 96 tracks in roughly 2 months + an NYU lecture. We are definitely Trapped in BasedWorld. THANK YOU BASED GOD.

• Basedworld:


“Deadly Doris”

Last month, Mute released “Millionenspiel,” a track from Can’s The Lost Tapes, a 3-CD set that collects unreleased/rediscovered jams from 1968-1977 (a.k.a. the great years, and then some). This month, we’ve got “Deadly Doris,” another track from The Lost Tapes. Check it out here:

The Lost Tapes is due June 19 via Mute. Keep it up, readers. We must be doing something right to get these sweet Can tracks.

• Can:
• Mute:

Andrew Weathers

“Taking Names Blues”

The electric guitar is no stranger to the worlds of ambient and drone. Often we hear guitars drenched in layers of reverb and echo, serving as a melodic fixture within a bold ambient landscape. The guitar also frequently functions as the motor behind drone music and is probably too often mistaken as being analog synthesizers. Andrew Weathers makes music that certainly has ambient tendencies, but it stars the acoustic guitar in a drone-like setting. While modern drone music can often be witnessed mingling with shades of folk and Americana styles, Weathers makes modern Americana music while mingling with drone characters.

The sepia-toned-out video for “Taking Names Blues” does a very fine job of depicting the auditory happenings within the lead-off track of Andrew Weathers’ split cassette with Ancient Ocean — out on Rubber City Noise. The video features four separate quadrants of film. The first and fourth quadrants show visions of driving past leafless trees, icy bodies of water, and telephone wires; while the second and third quadrants feature spinning footage of these winter trees. The changing landscape follows Weathers’ aimless yet steady finger-plucking journey on his acoustic guitar through classic American raga themes, while the constant yet dizzying images imitate the rotating undertone of drone that sticks with the recording throughout. Ancient Ocean’s side of the tape also features mesmerizing guitar motifs, but they play a bit more of a supporting role.

• Rubber City Noise:
• Andrew Weathers:

Julia Holter & Jib Kidder

“My Baby”

It’s been roughly a year since Jib Kidder made his debut in our Chocolate Grinder section (congrats again, Jib!). To mark this momentous occasion (aside from the balloons I blew up this morning), we’d like to share with you his most recent video for “My Baby.” The track is actually written by Julia Holter, who used Jib Kidder’s “Ringtone Cowboy” as source material. You can find the original on his forthcoming full-length Steal Guitars, an album that re-envisions country music in a similar manner to how Kidder’s All On Yall played with Southern rap. It’s out June 19 on States Rights. “My Baby” isn’t on it, but don’t fret Holter fanboy/fangirl: there will be a “remix companion” called Steal Guitars: Fencing Partners, too.

• Jib Kidder:
• Julia Holter:
• States Rights:

Ty Segall & White Fence

Hair [album trailer]

Who’s burning down the garage April 28? Drag City is, duh! Not since Ty’s collaboration with Mikal Cronin has he been this fired up with pal jamming. And after crushing the world with Woodsist news, White Fence is diversifying his bonds at Drag City. So what’s two young musicians to do? Go on tour of course! Also, yo, who thinks Burger Records is going to fresh out a tape of this sometime soon?

• Ty Segall:
• White Fence:
• Drag City:

Mount Eerie

“Lone Bell”

First, there was “House Shape,” now there is “Lone Bell.” As a certified Mount Eerie fan, I have to admit that I am, for once in my stupid life, happy. Check out “Lone Bell” below. It has moody horns, and it is modestly towering, and it is one of the better songs I’ve heard from Elverum since, well, “House Shape.” Listen to that bassline!

Clear Moon, the first of two Mount Eerie full-lengths due this year, is out May 22 on P.W. Elverum & Sun. I’ll be camping out starting this weekend. Who’s with me? JK. I’ll probably order online.

• P.W. Elverum & Sun:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.