“Kill ‘Em (OJ Simpson Remix)” (feat. Guilty Simpson)

From Stones Throw:

Madlib kicks off his 12-part, one-a-month Medicine Show series with a heavy hip-hop release featuring Guilty Simpson. Equal parts hip-hop beat tape with rapping, spoken word & interlude curiousities, movie soundtrack and comedy freak show.

• Madlib:
• Stones Throw:
• Medicine Show:



From (the one and only) Killer Pimp:

Before A Place To Bury Strangers there was Skywave, a 3-piece band from Fredericksburg, Virginia. Ollie left to move to NYC and formed APTBS but John and Paul stayed behind and continued on under the name of Ceremony.

While there’s no doubt comparisons to APTBS will be made (they remain good friends and were in the same band, after all), Ceremony are far more focused on making catchy pop tunes than blowing out your eardrums or speakers. Yes it is still loud.

Killer Pimp will release the LP & CD of Rocket Fire in early 2010 and it is being preceded by the 7” single for “Someday” b/w “Cracked Sun.” The 7” is limited to 500 copies and the B-side is exclusive and will not be on the LP or CD.

Ceremony’s “Someday” 7-inch is due January 26.

• Ceremony:
• Killer Pimp:

Anti-Pop Consortium

Live at La Maroquinerie, Paris, France [11-09-2009]

Grandcrew recently posted an awesome Anti-Pop Consortium concert from November 2009 in Paris. IN ITS ENTIRETY. Check it out.

• Anti-Pop Consortium:
• Grandcrew:

Foot Village

Pro-Creation Rockers

From the almighty Foot Village:

As a thank you to everyone involved with our recent trip to EU/UK, we have put together this free online comp of bands that we played with. It also includes to live recordings of Foot Village from one of our most raging shows, CCA in Glasgow. Both tracks are previously unreleased in any form.

Check it out here:

• Foot Village:
• Deathbomb Arc:

Field Music


Field Music are set to release, Field Music (Measure), February 16 on Memphis Industries. It’s a double album, by the way.

• Field Music:
• Memphis Industries:

Jay Reatard

Waiting for Something [documentary]

Here’s Waiting for Something, a 21-minute documentary on Jay Reatard, shot by Alex Hammond and Ian Markiewicz last year before the release of Watch Me Fall (via Matador). Definitely worth checking out. RIP, man.

• Jay Reatard:
• Matador:



  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.