“M. Wilson, American”

Like Chicago improv? According to their publicist, “[Male] features the core group of Jonathan Krohn, Ben Mjolsness and Todd Mattei (Joan of Arc), joined by Jason Adasiewicz, Josh Berman and Mike Reed (all Exploding Star Orchestra), Steven Hess (Pan American, Haptic, Fessenden), Nick Butcher and Dave Rempis.” Yummy. Male’s second full-length, German for Shark, will be released digitally and on limited-edition grey vinyl July 6 via the mighty Other Electricities.

• Male:
• Other Electricities:

The Most Serene Republic

“Jelly Chamber”

The Most Serene Republic are releasing a new EP, Fantasick Impossibliss, tomorrow on their own label, Home Of The Rebels. The Chocolate Grinder has never heard this band before, but you know what? Fuck it. I’ll watch after it’s published.

• The Most Serene Republic:
• Arts&Crafts:

Robby Moncrieff


Robby Moncrieff (The Advantage What’s Up, Dirty Projectors) has teamed up with Zach Hill (Hella) for an album called Who Do You Think You Aren’t. It’s due on Porter Records.

• Porter Records:

Brian Gibson

“A Total Change in Lifestyle”: Lightning Bolt Bassist By Night, Video Game Designer By Day

Brian Gibson (the bassist half of TMT favorite Lightning Bolt) has been working as the “lead artist” for a new game being developed for Harmonix (makers of Guitar Hero and Rock Band). He’s interviewed here about “the history of Lightning Bolt, Brian’s Barkley character (the impetus for the band), Providence, RI’s burgeoning art and music scene, and get a look at Thumper, the upcoming, sure-to-be-a-hit game Brian’s creating as we type,” according to’s Motherboard series.

• Motherboard:
• Lightning Bolt:

Matthew Larkin Cassell


Some white guys just have the funk in them. Case in point: Matthew Larkin Cassell. Although his name doesn’t quite flow, his beats do — in fact, they flow so effortlessly that Madlib unknowingly (and illegally) sampled his work for Madvillainy 2: The Madlib Remix. Somehow, someway, Cassell heard the sample and this eventually led to Stones Throw issuing a complete collection of his work. Don’t worry — it’s a happy story, and you can/should read it here.

• Stones Throw:


“Acres of Skin”

Zs’ new album, New Slaves, is due May 11 on The Social Registry. But you knew that already because we posted a live video of “Acres of Skin” earlier this month. Why are we posting again? Because the Chocolate Grinder LOVES it some Zs.

• Zs:
• The Social Registry:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.