Nate Young

On “Collapse,” Wolf Eyes co-founder Nate Young bucks his M.O. with a nice reversal: while the bulk of Young’s work can be handily summed up as “noise sculpting” (kneading raw noise material until it develops a digestible shape and structure), “Collapse” instead begins with conventional music — a looping, Hitchcock-esque piano crawl — that sizzles and boils towards its ultimate dissolution. It’s not exactly that the piano melody disappears, so much as it becomes flattened by its own repetition. The track’s title, of course, fits nicely.

What’s really rad is the expectation/fulfillment system that Young manipulates. The piano melody, which, as already mentioned, has a slasher-type vibe to it, sets the scene of a dark road, flickering street lamps, static in the air. More than ambient, the track is dissonant, which is a clear and important difference. When the louder buzzing starts up, we can’t help but anticipate some grizzly scene. And while the music does push the dissonance, there’s never really a catharsis. From the beginning, we expect the road to be leading somewhere huge and devouring. Instead, it keeps going. In fact, the track eventually fades out…

If you’re a fan of Young’s work with Wolf Eyes and Stare Case, be sure to check his solo LP, Stay Asleep, to which “Collapse” is the closer. It’s out November 15 on NNA Tapes, with a supporting tour following through December. Check here for dates, and don’t forget to read our interview with Young here.

• Nate Young:
• NNA Tapes:

Night Beats

“Ain’t Dumbo”

So, let’s set the record straight, cause I’ve kinda boned this before: it’s Burger Records. Although, they “operate in the Burger time zone” w/ a milli <3.

Check the YouTube comments for this clip. “This isn’t our music video.” -thenightbeats, 2 months ago 10 [thumbs up]. Like, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Enter the Void, and it’s probably visual garbage for this song, but the fuzzy imagery mashes well with the smear-finger fucked guitar licks of Night Beats, and that shit “Ain’t Dumbo,” brahh.

Which means, this is all goofball untrustworthy narration. Especially in the digital age. Don’t believe me? Don’t believe me. ‘_’ But find Night Beats’ self-titled album on cassette at Burger Records. Also, the “LP/CD available from Trouble In Mind Records!”

• Night Beats:
• Burger Records:
• Trouble in Mind Records:

DOOM with Thom Yorke/Jonny Greenwood

“Retarded Fren”

As we recently reported, DOOM has teamed with Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood, Oxford’s most blunted, on a new track for Lex’s compilation celebrating its 10-year anniversary. You can check out the track, lovingly titled “Retarded Fren,” streaming on Lex’s SoundCloud. (via P4k)

• Lex:

Jack Ruby

“Hit and Run”

Ready for some new punk of yesteryear? This is old-school, no wave, truly legit stuff. Apparently Jack Ruby hid their musical testimony pretty deep, because only now have their first recordings been exhumed from some vault, lost since the band’s run (1974-77) nearly 40 years ago. They hail from good ol’ pre-Giuliani NYC, no less. Sounding like a more punk-infused Lou Reed, vocalist Robin Hall leads us in with some appropriately vague musings on quick violence and general indifference before the rest of the band walks us off with squeals and discord. The mix is swell, too, the bass pulling things along and the guitar crackling static throughout with pretty much no resolution. The whole long lost album is on sale now from ugEXPLODE records.

• Jack Ruby:


Neutone [CD-R preview]

Focus in on this tunnel as a vortex to the universe. Signaling swoops throughout your body expand at three times infinite, shocking unseen existence with less intensity and more static. You enter a void of colors that’ve never been imagined, reflecting off light beams streaking through dark matter and holes. Where speed means nothing to travel and travel exists only in the mind. Into the Neutone null, beyond thought — only where life thrives to begin. An area too striking for life, for pioneering. Of gas within light and dark, breaking pockets into windows of clouds lifting motion to other galaxies left so far beyond this point. And the wave of expansion continues to rip across, creating existence and leaving behind nothing really important. But all you’tts want is a tube of SPF 1-milli, a little purp-drank, couple space bitches, surf wax for that galactic rip tide, and the new Neutone CD-R in your portable. Hit up Ginjoha for more deetz.

• Ginjoha:

ASAP Rocky

LiveLoveA$AP [mixtape]

ASAP Rocky’s debut mixtape, LiveLoveA$AP, which features contributions from Spaceghostpurrp and Clams Casino, is out now. Download the mixtape here! Goodnight!

• A$AP Rocky:



  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.