Phosphorescent
“It’s Hard To Be Humble (When You’re From Alabama)”

Matthew Houck — a.k.a. Phosphorescent, a.k.a. the guy who is NOT obsessed with porn (dated reference) — is releasing a new LP, Here’s to Taking It Easy, May 11 on Dead Oceans.

• Phosphorescent: http://www.myspace.com/phosphorescent
• Dead Oceans: http://www.deadoceans.com

Josiah Wolf

“Master Cleanse (California)”

WHY’s Josiah Wolf has gone solo on our asses. His debut LP, Jet Lag, is due March 2 via Anticon. Our lives will never be the same.

• Josiah Wolf: http://www.myspace.com/josiahwolfjetlag
• Anticon: http://anticon.com

Nick Jaina

“Sleep Child”

Nick Jaina’s latest, A Bird in the Opera House, is due April 13 on Hush. Expect lush orchestration, exquisite melodies, and, if you’re listening closely enough, nudity.

• Nick Jaina: http://www.nickjaina.com
• Hush Records: http://www.hushrecords.com

Jookabox

“Don’t Go Phantom” (Amtrak Remix)

Jookabox’s Dead Zone Boys was released late last year via Asthmatic Kitty, but the label has teamed up recently with Audio Recon for a remix EP titled Dead Zone RMXS. I have no fucking clue what RMXS means. Anyway, check out this track, remixed by Amtrak.

• Jookabox: http://www.myspace.com/jookabox
• Asthmatic Kitty: http://asthmatickitty.com
• Audio Recon: http://audiorecon.net

Aloe Blacc

“I Need a Dollar”

Aloe Blacc’s single “I Need a Dollar” is the lead track to the new HBO show How To Make It in America. It stars the TMT staffers, who has clearly made it in America.

• Aloe Blacc: http://www.aloeblacc.com
• How To Make It in America: http://howtomakeitinamerica.com
• Stones Throw: http://www.stonesthrow.com

Bang on a Can

Performing Dave Longstreth compositions and more at New York’s Merkin Hall

As we recently reported, the Bang on a Can All-Stars are performing music written by various composers, including Dirty Projectors’ Dave Longstreth, at Merkin Hall tonight. Don’t have tickets? Who gives a shit when you can stream the entire performance online at WQXR’s Q2 station at 7:30 PM EST (via BrooklynVegan)! From WQXR:

This year, Bang on a Can has selected four young and innovative composers for these world premiere performances: Swiss ambient-funk-pianist-composer Nik Bärtsch, UK-based electro-acoustic composer Oscar Bettison, Boston composer-inventor Christine Southworth, and Brooklyn’s David Longstreth, the driving force behind the ground-breaking indie rock band Dirty Projectors. The All-Stars also present a recently-commissioned work by British composer Michael Nyman and selections from Brian Eno’s seminal work Music for Airports.

By the way, did you know that “merkin” is defined as a wig made out of pubic hair? And that a former TMT writer used to go by “Merkin”? The more you know, indeed.

• Bang on a Can: http://bangonacan.org

News

  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.


TMT IS SEEKING CHOCOLATE GRINDER WRITERS

Click here to apply