The Souljazz Orchestra

Rising Sun, The Souljazz Orchestra’s third album, is due February 16 on Strut.

• The Souljazz Orchestra:
• Strut:

Title Tracks

“Steady Love”

“Steady Love” is on the band’s debut full-length, It Was Easy, due February 23 on Ernest Jenning.

• Title Tracks:
• Ernest Jenning:

Future Islands

“Swept Inside”

“Swept Inside” was recorded in an “intimate living room” a few months ago. You can also check out living-room renditions of “Tin Man” and “Walking Through That Door” here. The studio versions of the tracks will appear on In Evening Air, Future Islands’ Thrill Jockey debut, which is due April 5.

• Future Islands:
• Thrill Jockey:

Fol Chen

“In The Flesh” [Pink Floyd Cover]

This cover was recorded for MOJO’s tribute to Pink Floyd’s The Wall.

• Fol Chen:
• Asthmatic Kitty:

Strong Arm Steady / Madlib

“Best of Times”

In Search of Stoney Jackson, the Strong Arm Steady/Madlib collaboration, was released last week.

• Strong Arm Steady:
• Madlib:
• Stones Throw:

Animal Collective

Interviewed by Lesbian Police Officer

Tig Notaro, the lesbian police officer on The Sarah Silverman Program, interviews Geologist, the lesbian noisemaker from Animal Collective. They talk about the group’s film ODDSAC as well as Geologist’s balls. Yep, it’s appropriately weird, set sometime around Sundance 2010 (where the film premiered) in what appears to be some bar. Beautiful camerawork, too.

• Animal Collective:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.