Times New Viking
“Ever Falling In Love”

On April 26, Times New Viking will release Dancer Equired on their new home, Merge. And yes, it was actually recorded in a studio (Columbus Discount Recording). How dare they give a shit!

• Times New Viking: http://www.myspace.com/timesnewviking
• Merge: http://www.mergerecords.com

Matt Carlson

“Bird Level”

This short video samples a track from Gecko Dream Levels, Carlson’s new Gift Tapes release. I like what Keith Fullerton Whitman had to say about the record:

A squeaky-clean take on free-time (seriously, there’s not a motor-rhythm to be found anywhere within) electronic agglomerationings that beckons the listener / user closer with one gesture while simultaneously / aestheically revolting with another.

Gift Tapes also put up two more creepy, oozing 3D vids created by Brenna Murphy for Spare Death Icon and Million Mists.

• Gift Tapes: http://gifttapes.com/
• Matt Carlson: http://bucketfactorial.blogspot.com/
• Spare Death Icon: http://sparedeathicon.com/

J. Rocc

“Play This Too”

Yesterday, turntablist J. Rocc dropped Some Cold Rock Stuff on Stones Throw. You know, the beats would actually sound pretty good beneath raps about faggots, necrophilia, and rape. Do I smell a collaboration? Check out some upcoming performances by J. Rocc here.

• J-Rocc: http://www.myspace.com/funkypresident
• Stones Throw: http://www.stonesthrow.com

Gang Gang Dance


“MindKillah,” another new track off Gang Gang Dance’s forthcoming album Eye Contact, features some lyrics from the cute little lullaby, “Hush Little Baby.” But with Lizzi Bougatsos’ delivery, it’s more like “SHUT THE FUCK UP, STUPID BABY!!” The video is directed by Shoji Goto of the Boredoms. Download the track at the band’s official website.

Eye Contact, the band’s fifth full-length, is out May 10 via 4AD.

• Gang Gang Dance: http://www.ganggangdance.com
• 4AD: http://www.4ad.com

The Antlers



Burst Apart, the follow-up to Hospice (TMT Review), is due May 10 via Frenchkiss. Check out the stream of “Parentheses” above.

• The Antlers: http://antlersmusic.com
• Frenchkiss: http://www.frenchkissrecords.com

Jeremy Jay

Dream Diary [full-album stream]

Jeremy Jay’s new album, Dream Diary, is due next Tuesday, April 12, on K Records. In a wise move, Jay is currently offering the full album as a stream. According to TMT’s Rowan Savage (whose review of the album will be up shortly), “Jay has the fragility, beauty and occasional majesty of any of the Sarah Records roster, without the frustratingly cultivated naiveté or humorlessness.” Agreed.

• Jeremy Jay: http://www.myspace.com/jeremyjay
• K: http://www.kpunk.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.