“Natural Selection”

UNKLE’s new LP, Where Did The Night Fall, is released May 11.

• UNKLE: http://www.unkle.com

Cap'n Jazz

“Oh, Messy Life”

As mentioned in the news section, Cap’n Jazz has officially reunited. Here’s a track from the past: “Oh, Messy Life,” which was released on the group’s Jade Tree anthology, Analphabetapolothology. A vinyl reissue is set for June 15.

• Cap’n Jazz: http://www.joanfrc.com/capnjazz.html
• Jade Tree: http://www.jadetree.com

Chocolate Grinder Mix 27

Murder DethKill

Admittedly, I don’t listen to a lot of contemporary hard rock or metal, a fact that will come as no surprise to those who have listened to my previous mixes, which are dominated by indie rock, hip-hop, and electronic. However, thanks in part to encouragement from my stepbrother and Metalocalypse, I have made a concerted effort to get into it more as of late. This mix presents the fruits of that labor, with eight brain-demolishing noise bombs capped by a couple oddballs that should bring a little levity to the festivities. I must thank Candlelight Records, who were instrumental in helping to put this together, and I’m especially stoked to have been given the nod for Baroness, Converge, and personal childhood heroes Green Jellÿ.

01. Hellsongs - “Symphony Of Destruction” (Hymns In The Key Of 666)
Start time: 0:00; Links: Minty Fresh - Hellsongs

02. Giant Squid - “Throwing A Donner Party At Sea” (The Ichthyologist)
Start time: 3:08; Links: Translation Loss - Giant Squid

03. Bibleblack - “Stigma Diaboli” (The Black Swan Epilogue)
Start time: 8:46; Links: Candlelight - Bibleblack

04. SubArachnoid Space - “Lilith” (Eight Bells)
Start time: 12:05; Links: Crucial Blast - SubArachnoid Space

05. The Atlas Moth - “A Night In Venus’ Arms” (A Glorified Piece Of Blue Sky)
Start time: 16:52; Links: Candlelight - The Atlas Moth

06. Baroness - “The Gnashing” (Blue Album)
Start time: 22:44; Links: Relapse - Baroness

07. Anaal Nathrakh - “The Unbearable Filth Of The Soul” (In The Constellation Of The Black Widow)
Start time: 27:01; Links: Candlelight - Anaal Nathrakh

08. Green Jellÿ - “Stabby The Clown” (Musick To Insult Your Intelligence By)
Start time: 30:31; Links: Rotton - Green Jellÿ

09. Converge - “Cruel Bloom” (Axe To Fall)
Start time: 35:55; Links: Epitaph - Converge

10. Jogger - “Nephicide” (This Great Pressure)
Start time: 39:55; Links: Jogger

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]


“Untitled 5/05”

Xasthur’s 2005 Demo is released tomorrow via Hydra Head. Check out a stream of “Untitled 5/05” here.

• Xasthur: http://xasthur.mercurous.net
• Hydra Head: http://www.hydrahead.com

Velvet Davenport

“Get Out” (with Ariel Pink and Gary War)

“Get Out” is released on 7-inch March 30 via Shdwply Records. It features Ariel Pink and Gary War, who also play on a couple other tracks (“Run” and “Surfer Girl”) from the 7-inch.

• Velvet Davenport: http://myspace.com/velvetdavenport
• Shdwply Records: http://shdwplyrecords.com


“Death’s Head”

Here’s a track from Theodore, jump-starting Absolutely Kosher’s new imprint Moon Jaw Records. If you like some tortured, damaged, noisy folk, you’ll want to stick around for the psychedelic blowout about four minutes in.

• Theodore: http://www.myspace.com/theodoreacoustic
• Moon Jaw: http://moonjawrecords.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.