Viktor Timofeev
“Flying Zonogons”

Viktor Timofeev’s 15-minute epic paints a pretty desolate landscape. The press release compares “Flying Zonogons” to Godspeed You! Black Emperor as well as Norwegian black metal, and it’s apt — I haven’t heard burned-out guitars screeching this menacingly in a while. It’s total in-the-red, bristling at the edges, visceral droning horror. Haunting shit. Don’t miss the the full album, titled GIVE HEALTH999, when it comes out September 14 via Lo Bit Landscapes.

• Victor Timofeev:
• Lo Bit Landscapes:

Hobo Cubes

“Next Level Guidance”

Tagged “Psych-kraut” by Montreal analog apostle Francesco Ouellette, this synth anthem does what a lot of spacey instrumentals don’t: it moves, and it moves fast! With an urgent drum machine beat, wailing non-wanky keyboard licks, and boiling-hot electronic tones coming from all directions, it creates conflict, tension. It probably helped that I first listened to the Center 4 Mentalists tape — from fresh Chicago label Goldtimers — while I was driving very fast in my car. The titles may have a new age infomercial vibe, but this is not late-night, half-dead insomnia music. It’s dance music for the reanimated. The liner notes threaten that this is the “2nd and final” edition, and it is sold out at the label. But you can download it from the Hobo Cubes Bandcamp for a few bucks.

• Hobo Cubes:
• Goldtimers:


Translations [full EP]

Dig the new Mush signing Jeavol. This gaggle of faceless Belgian hooligans is so confident that their product kicks ass, they are giving away free samples. That’s right! Their heavy, ethereal Translations EP is available for tasting, with detectable notes of Sean Paul, Beyoncé, Justin Timberlake, Rihanna, and Jay-Z. But what begins as a club fantasy soon turns dark. The drywall start to rot, lights flicker, shadows move, and people look strange. This isn’t the Billboard Hot 100. Is this a scary dream or a comfortable nightmare? Who is dreaming it? After the unearthly “Just In Lov” climaxes and “Re: N/A SOS” clambers into your ears, you will be ready to plead along with the words, “Help me.” =V.v=

• Jealov:
• Mush:
• Download EP:

Atlas Sound

“Terra Incognita”

I’ve always liked Atlas Sound better than Deerhunter, so it’s pretty COOL that the next chapter in the Bradford Cox saga involves a new Atlas Sound album. It shall be titled Parallax and will be out on November 7 and will be released through 4AD and will hopefully be prettyyy, prettyyy, prettyyyy, pretty good. Stream above or download here.

• Atlas Sound:
• 4AD:

Lawrence English

“The Roar Ceasing”

In my previous post on Lawrence English, I noted how his music feels like a slice of the micro world slowed down and forced into a huge macro space. I keep coming back to the word “lumbering” because the sounds seem to have a physical mass, which makes sense – according to English, The Peregrine is largely about nature, about landscape and minute details juxtaposed against their overwhelming surroundings. More specifically, the album is a homage to a book by J.A. Baker, also titled The Peregrine, which chronicles a year of the author’s obsessive observations of two peregrine falcons in the wild. Such focus on birds performing instinctively in their natural habitat inevitably contrasts our own identities against the indifferent functionality of nature, until the viewer or author begins to disappear. The same concealing of authorship and ego can also be seen in this ‘ambient’ or drone music, which often focuses on minute details – as distinguishing factors – set against a larger shared landscape. English has this to say about the loss of ‘humanness’ in J.A. Baker’s text, which I think is offered as a parallel to the Peregrine’s music as well:

At no point does the idea of humanness come to dominate – in fact human kind merely appears as haunting images that, as Baker summarizes, ‘stink of death’. Elegantly misanthropic. Even the author remains oddly mute – we never discover anything about him, not what he does, how he lives or even where he sleep or eats. He is merely a conduit through which land is rendered.

• Lawrence English:
• Experimedia:

Richard Youngs

“Furrows Again”

Richard Youngs, who’s so prolific that not even he owns everything he’s recorded, added to his vast catalog last month with Amplifying Host, an incredibly beautiful yet peculiar album that got us so excited we had to scream EUREKA. In our review, TMTer Ian Latta wrote how the album sounds “broken” (sounds, not is), a particularly interesting descriptor, given how fluidly and seamlessly the music flows. But Latta’s completely right. In an interview with The Quietus, Youngs explains how both the album’s chord progressions and tempos were randomly determined to “bypass any decision-making.” Indeed, there is nothing fixed about this album; it’s all ellipses, movement, instability.

This is all visually reflected in the video for “Furrows Again,” the first track off Amplifying Host. Directed by Naomi Yang (of Damon & Naomi), the video’s momentum is derived from a sense of aimlessness and transition, an unsettling feeling for listeners who expect their caterpillars to turn into butterflies. But those who are willing to submerge themselves in less predictable experiences from a musician whose compositional practices are anything but routine will find much to enjoy here.

• Richard Youngs:
• Jagjaguwar:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.