“The Hearse”

Not that band names always signify what that band will sound like, but it seems that Wampire is finally embracing the undead aspect of their name. First of all, this song is called “The Hearse.” And then you press play and that creepy organ begins wobbling from your speakers. It isn’t until the crunchy, driving drum beat comes in when you can even recognize it as a Wampire song, and even then it takes all of these eerie twists and turns like a jam band playing a Halloween house show. But by the time that final chorus kicks in and those cold-wave synths toss us into the setting of The Lost Boys, “The Hearse” has summoned us so far into its Bad Vibrations atmosphere that we find ourselves suited in black, dancing along with the funeral procession, and wondering how we ended up here. Lots of blood and fog, I think.

You can check out “The Hearse” below and buy the 7-inch now from Polyvinyl Records. The full-length, Curiosity is due in May.

• Wampire: https://soundcloud.com/wampire-music
• Polyvinyl Records: http://www.polyvinylrecords.com

Diamond Terrifier and The Black Ceremony

“Ascribing Essence”

Traveling across land and sea, our brass-bellowed hero returns with “Ascribing Essence” to a chilly home front. Yamantaka Vajrabhairava, the Diamond Terrifier, turns with many faces to accept ritual with Black Ceremony, breathing life into the inanimate and dimensional, exhaled into warped winds of wonder, tapped upon by the mighty fingers of manipulation and notion. Journeying beyond the beloved Zebulon, Diamond Terrifier seeks ritual refuge at the Mega Fortress. Awaiting his arrival, Mega Fortress glimmers in layers of glass and ice, sirening stutters of “My Favorite Girl” yet shattering frost in spurts of vocal glory. Upon Diamond Terrifier’s entrance into the Mega Fortress, witnesses will experience the blending of PRACTICing spiritual forces ascending planes of existence to here and there and where you farewell.

A.K.A.: ZS are back from Japan, so kicking off Sam Hillmer’s new PRACTICE space at Public Assembly, he and Mega Fortress will be conducting a (sure to be) MONUMENTAL collaboration Monday, January 28. Bring your grandma or a new friend, and listen to their track “Ascribing Essence” below:

• Diamond Terrifier: http://twitter.com/DmndTrrfr
• Mega Fortress: http://megafortress.tumblr.com


“Six Improvisations for Computer and Guitar”

Brisbane’s Andrew Tuttle (no relation, as far as I know) has recently issued a 3-inch EP of guitar and computer exercises that… well, that is just lovely. Each note carries with it a fluttering, feathery tail of sound that spirals clear off into the distance from its humble origins. Even with audible edits happening at various junctures, the stream of consciousness never feels broken or interrupted, making the digital elements truly as natural for Anonymeye as is the friction between the skin of his fingertips and the metallic strings of his guitar. That is, though nothing here feels especially revolutionary, nor is any of it technically (or technologically, for that matter) mind-blowing, Anonymeye’s approach still seems even more fully-integrated than just being electro-acoustic music — it’s as if the computer really is an acoustic instrument to begin with. Of course, this isn’t how the physical world allows for us to observe what actually goes into music like this, so I guess we’ll just have to close our eyes and imagine. Which, upon a single soothing run-through of this short, breezy-and-easy sampler, seems to be the best way to do this thing anyway.

• Anonymeye: http://www.anonymeye.com
• Twice Removed: http://www.twiceremoved.storenvy.com



There’s something very disconcerting about field recordings turned into drone music, as if some serious lurking darkness is underneath everything. It’s like when the camera pans down through all of the dirt and bugs underneath the perfectly-kept grass of the Beaumont’s front yard at the beginning of Blue Velvet. Whatever™’s down there; it’s really slow-moving. It could be all around us, drowning us alive, before we even notice it’s there.

Whatever™’s No Au! is out soon on Exo Tapes.

• Exo Tapes: http://exotapes.tumblr.com

Little Wings

“Bonus Fog”

Last we heard from Kyle Field, front man of Little Wings, visual artist, and expert surfer, was on 2011’s Black Grass. Since then, Field spent most of his time either traveling or in the Bay Area, working periodically on a batch of songs that would eventually become his latest album, LAST. It was in the middle of recording when Field reportedly fell into a deep depression, an unexpected personal turn that has resulted in a work with a much darker side than anticipated.

“Bonus Fog” must have been written during this period. The track marries Field’s austere folk with a dragging hopelessness that’s equal parts devastating and sublime. Here, the protagonists of the story are stranded, trapped on an increasingly smaller area of land as they witness the world around them getting swallowed by the tide and blown away by the wind. The feelings evoked are anything but optimistic, with foundational truths uprooted and human impressions rendered obsolete by nature: “Another dusting of the lens through which we’ll try to make out any movement, any finger from the air to shake/ Tracing our outlines on the sand some wind will take again/ The dampest footprints melt back into what they were back then.” Throughout, Field is lethargically strumming on a nylon, verse after verse, not so much telling a story as revealing an unfortunate ending to a much larger one.

“Bonus Fog” is a reminder of how our emotions can be all-consuming from an individual vantage yet entirely transient in the face of larger forces, good or bad. Sure, it’s a bleak outlook (one that’s tempered elsewhere on the album), but it’s executed in utterly gorgeous fashion.

LAST is out February 5 on Field’s own RAD imprint, with distribution by Marriage Records.

• Kyle Field: http://www.kyledraws.com
• Rad: http://www.marriagerecs.com/shop2/524/_rad-distro_
• Marriage: http://www.marriagerecs.com

Purling Hiss

Water on Mars [album trailer]

Sonically and stylistically, Philadelphia’s Purling Hiss can be best be described as Dinosaur Jr.’s grumpy older brother: laid-back, but not afraid to punch you in the face if you try anything stupid. Their new record, Water on Mars, comes out March 19 on Drag City, and in anticipation, the band has unveiled a new album trailer, slamming together cuts from the album in a dizzying kind of promotional mash-up set to washed-out TV visuals. The samples of each song are short — 10 seconds or less — but put together, they encapsulate the sound of Water on Mars’ garage rock deep-fried in trippy goodness. Drag City warns viewers that this clip will “open a gateway of sorts from your cerebral noggin to an atmosphere removed of oxygen and air as we know it.” You’ve been warned.

• Purling Hiss - http://purlinghiss.bandcamp.com/
• Drag City - http://www.dragcity.com/


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.