Xiu Xiu / Dirty Beaches
“Always” / “Tu Ne Dis Rien”

As we reported late last month, Xiu Xiu and Dirty Beaches are releasing a split 7-inch single on April 21 for Record Store Day (fetish alert!). Xiu Xiu’s side features a cover of Erasure’s “Always” (also the title of Xiu Xiu’s latest), while Dirty Beaches covers “Tu Ne Dis Rien” by Françoise Hardy. Check out both tracks below via Polyvinyl. (And hey, while I have you, can I just parenthetically reiterate just how awesome Dirty Beaches’ Badlands is??)

Xiu Xiu and Dirty Beaches will be going on a joint tour soon. Check out the dates here.

• Xiu Xiu: http://xiuxiu.org
• Dirty Beaches: http://dirtybeaches.blogspot.com
• Polyvinyl: http://www.polyvinylrecords.com


“Ascending” / “Caves Of Paradise” / “Iwwad”

Benji B recently played three new Actress tracks on his Radio 1 show. If you have the leisure time and get a perverse kick out of suspending your gratification, then you can check out the whole show here for the next seven days. But if you’re the type of person who must go through the drive-thru and have, like, one-minute masturbating sessions, then it’s probably best to check out TheBananaKing11’s rip of the show above, which extracts all three songs into a nice little video. I guess your third option would be to wait until April 20, when Actress’ highly-anticipated R.I.P. album is for sale via Honest Jon’s. BUT YOU MUST CHOOSE AT LEAST ONE OF THE THREE.

• Honest Jon’s: http://www.honestjons.com

John Maus

“No Title (Molly)”

On Record Store Day, April 21, Ribbon Music and Domino are releasing an exclusive, limited-edition “FlexiDisc Zine” called Smugglers Way. The 24-page zine will feature contributions by artists ranging from Alex Bleeker (Real Estate), Owen Pallett, and Bjorn Copeland (Black Dice), to Jon Hopkins, Ade Blackburn (Clinic), and Jana Hunter (Lower Dens). It also includes unreleased songs by Dirty Projectors, Real Estate, Cass McCombs, Villagers, and TMT favorite John Maus, all spread across five individual, multi-colored Flexi Discs. The transparent orange disc, naturally everyone’s go-to color choice, features Maus and his unreleased track, “No Title (Molly).” Stream it here, friends:

Check out the the Smugglers Way trailer here:

• John Maus: http://mausspace.com
• Smugglers Way: http://smugglersway.tumblr.com
• Domino Records: http://www.dominorecordco.us
• Ribbon Music: http://ribbonmusic.com

Mission of Burma

“Dust Devil”

Holy Ian Curtis, it’s a new Mission of Burma tune! The legendary Boston post-punk band will release their new album, Unsound, on Fire Records this July. “Dust Devil” is the album opener, and it’s got everything you could want in a MoB song: those familiar chugging riffs, cacophonous bits of feedback, and just enough harmonies to make it go down smooth. I’m not sure if this song was written for the household appliance or the dangerous meteorological phenomenon, but Roger Miller and company make the Dust Devil sound rollicking and rowdy regardless of the context.

• Mission of Burma: http://www.missionofburma.com
• Fire: http://www.firerecords.com

Rafael Toral / Davu Seru

“First Third” [excerpt]

I don’t like you, and you don’t like me. But I think we can all agree that we do like Rafael Toral, whose third volume in his Space Elements (TMT Review) series (jazz via electronics) weaseled its way to #33 on our favorite albums of 2011 list. No word yet on a fourth volume, but Toral just released Live in Minneapolis on jazz label Clean Feed, which features a stunning 2011 performance with percussionist Davu Seru. Check out an excerpt of the first track here:

• Rafael Toral: http://rafaeltoral.net
• Davu Seru: http://davuseru.com
• Clean Feed: http://www.cleanfeed-records.com
• Taiga: http://taigarecords.com
• Staubgold: http://www.staubgold.com
• Tiny Mix Tapes: http://www.tinymixtapes.com

Black Eagle Child

“Eighteen and Six”

Black Eagle Child serves as the moniker for Michael Jantz, a guy with what used to be considered a formidable discography yet now looks like creative restraint in these days, especially for a guy who rubs shoulders with the mightily prolific Sean McCann. This release, from drone overlords Under The Spire, sees Jantz corral the meandering tones of his previous efforts into more of a rhythmic, repetitive template (hence the album title, “Go Around, Again”). The result is, as predicted, lush.

• Black Eagle Child: http://blackeaglechild.com
• Under The Spire: http://www.underthespire.co.uk


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.