“your hands/ moo .3”

Yyu, fronted by a guy named Ben from California, has released a bizarre yet cozy little album, TIMETIMETIME&TIME. The release sees Yyu mashing samples sourced from both himself and presumably not-himself, fucking with their temporal logic, and then cut-and-pasting it all together in a sample-/loop-based record that sounds satisfyingly warm, playful, and performative. Beats jerk around and discontinuities abound, sure, but there’s a well-defined, honed-in aesthetic that sounds at once incredibly disciplined and incredibly out of control: one moment you’re gently nudged forward with a delicate buzz of guitar strings, the next you’re trapped in a loop going nowhere but in circles.

Listen to the album’s first track, “your hands/ moo .3,” here:

Meanwhile, give the full album a stream here, courtesy of Beer On The Rug (a label that I’m growing to truly ♥), and don’t forget about Yyu’s free EP from earlier this year, Ghost Toast.

• Yyu: http://soundcloud.com/yyu
• Beer on the Rug: http://beerontherug.com


“Macarena (cover)”

|||||||| DISCLOSURE |||||||| YES |||||||| FUN |||||||| DUST |||||||| HARSH |||||||| APPLY |||||||| FREE |||||||| SUMMER |||||||| CRYSTAL |||||||| HELLO |||||||| VIEW |||||||| MANIC |||||||| BUTTON |||||||| TRAFFIC |||||||| CH’SHH |||||||| ANTIQUITY ||||||||

Also, be on the look out for more goofin’s of Sir Jesse Briata (Lockbox) on Animal Image Search July 1.

• Lockbox: http://lockbox.bandcamp.com
• Animal Image Search: http://animalimagesearch.bandcamp.com

Dirty Projectors

“Dance For You”

Dirty Projectors just released a second track from their forthcoming album, Swing Lo Magellan (out July 10 on Domino). It’s called “Dance For You” and has an amazing video to go with it. PLEASE watch it full screen:

• Dirty Projectors: http://www.dirtyprojectors.net
• Domino: http://www.dominorecordco.us

Co La

“Dr. Oblivion Soundcheck”

Oh, yeah! Remember last year when TMT sucked NNA dry? Well, the juice was worth the squeeze, because they keep on rockin’ it. Not only are they pimping Ryan Power, KFW, and Dolphins into the Future already, but here’s a new Co La release, Soft Power Memento. ON TAPE! (Or CD if ya in love with the format @Hands In The Dark). And it’s an EP, ya heard. Only, no you haven’t. Unless you bought it already and it’s come to ya house. If ya haven’t, “Dr. Oblivion Soundcheck” is your taste (supreme). It’s nice. Like, same old CD-scratched mixing, but way more mellow, less abrasive than before. The whole EP is that. This’ll probz be my summer EP. It’s all one-sided too, so just flip a bitch and replay that sex-talk. Find it now on NNA before they all out and you all like :( …Er you can pop it as a CD off Hands In The Dark’s new website!

• Co La: http://meltersdelight.tumblr.com
• Hands In The Dark: http://handsinthedarkrecords.com
• NNA Tapes: http://nnatapes.com

LeBeha Men

“Garifuna Field Recordings”

“Twenty four minutes of haunting legitimacy”. That’s how we at the TMT offices described Stephen Molyneux’s previous endeavors into field recordings. In 2010, when Molyneux was working and living out in Thailand, he made excursions through Cambodia, picking up distant snippets of activity and music. The result was an enticing sort of half-engagement: the feeling of being a visitor in awe of the fleeting sounds of daily life, but without being able to be directly involved or to fully appreciate it.

This latest release has been described by No Kings as a “follow up of sorts,” yet I’m inclined to think of it differently. This year, Molyneux hopped over to Belize where he met the LeBeha Men and recorded the ensemble in single, uninterrupted takes. The LeBeha drumming centre is a project in Belize that teaches local kids traditional drumming skills and is patently successful at doing so, since their graduates were nominated for a Grammy in 2006. So, for me, both projects are intriguing in their own separate ways: one is an exercise in traditional field recording, tracking the messy and meandering sounds of life in a specific environment; the other is an intimate portrait of incredible talent.

• LeBeha Drumming Centre: http://lebeha.com
• No Kings: http://nokingsrecord.co

Brandon Locher

Conversations [album stream]

With some of this year’s top records landing squarely in the straight noise category (I guess I’m thinking especially of Dilloway’s massive and brilliant Modern Jester here), posting something that’s not especially definable as “music” isn’t exactly as groundbreaking of a thing to do these days. So yeah, even though this is severely lacking on the rhythm/melody/harmony fronts (…or is it?), Conversations is (a) still music to my ears anyway, and (b) wildly different from other noise albums floating around. It’s a sound-art piece edited together from several phone calls to numbers randomly selected from a Johnstown, PA area phonebook by a conceptual artist named Brandon Locher. For each successive call, the answerer is answering to the previous answerer, and the next to that answerer, and on and on. There’s almost a half hour of this, and every second of it is fucking gold. It’s a great statement on hot topics like consumer culture and the language of dead/empty signifiers made even more dead/empty in our increasingly mechanized, automated world (among others I’m sure), but I especially like how, as Conversations offers a kind of narrative as it moves along, the various mysteries each caller is presented with develop with each passing transaction, an ever-thickening plot unfolding rather awkwardly and hilariously. There’s a real progression here, and it’s a horribly addicting thing to sit down and get lost in.

Try it out and download it if you want:

• Brandon Locher: http://brandonlocher.bandcamp.com
• My Idea of Fun: http://www.myideaoffun.org



  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.