Motion Sickness Of Time Travel
“Color Changing Eyes”

Rachel Evans, a.k.a. Motion Sickness of Time Travel and co-owner of Hooker Vision, just finished her last semester of grad school, but that certainly hasn’t slowed down her release schedule (no surprise, given that she has over 20 releases under her name since 2008). In February, she released Patience Folding Waters (as Quiet Evenings, her duo with husband Grant Evans), and she has three releases as MSOTT in the coming weeks: The Blue Color Pales on Sacred Phrases, a self-titled 2LP on Editions Mego’s Spectrum Spools imprint (note to you: it’s fucking great), and a cassette/digital release titled Traces.

The last one is particularly special, as it marks the inaugural release of A Guide To Saints, a label started by Lawrence English of Room40. It’s also the first release in what A Guide To Saints describes as “Cassette Diaries,” in which artists are asked to record music in a limited period of time, with each release assembled and screenprinted by hand. In the case of Traces, Evans recorded both sides live and in one take, and if the clip for “Color Changing Eyes” (an excerpt from Side B) is any indication, the release will be as rich, expansive, and time-suspending as her other releases. But with such an immersive tapestry of synth, electronics, and vocals, the music also expands beyond any temporal limitations and begins to resemble the qualities of space. For more space- and time-fucking, check out the video:

Get Traces from A Guide To Saints. FYI: the cassette is limited to 100, so act quickly.

• Motion Sickness of Time Travel:
• A Guide to Saints:
• Hooker Vision:

Alligator Indian

Spring I’m In [album stream]

This isn’t exactly your standard tribal-infused, synth-soaring ordeal. First of all, it’s better than that. I believe that people too often forget that sheer high-quality can be a way to stake out originality. As in, just sounding good — polished, self-assured, harmonious — can set an album apart from the overcrowded brood out of which it levitates, aglow. Such is the principle that marks Alligator Indian’s most immediate draw. Spring I’m In demands no test of patience to listen to from front to end, unlike some of even today’s best band’s efforts. If you’re reading this website, you’ve most likely discovered for yourself that there exists a sweet-spot between music that plucks your frontal lobe and music that taps into pure aural pleasure — or, in other words, music that combines musicianship with ideas. Aligator Indian happily mines that middle ground, and, doing justice to their label’s cause, they strike at least a little aesthetic gold.

Spring I’m In is out now on Bleeding Gold. Stream/Buy the whole album here.

• Alligator Indian:
• Bleeding Gold:

Warm Thighs

“Cold Legs”

Astro Nautico, the label responsible for putting out solid releases by howse, Time Wharp, Kuhn, Obey City, and Paul Jones, recently dropped Atlantics: Vol. 2, a beastly (and free) 41-track compilation of bass-heavy dance tracks, suffocated hip-hop, and ethereal bathdub constructions. Each morning this week, I’ll pick one of my favorite tracks, so you can start your day off astronautically.

Warm Thighs, formerly known as _lip, is a Brighton beat maker. His tracks might sound smooth at first, but listen closer and you’ll hear the true beauty hiding just beneath the surface: the cut-up beat-displacing, the pitch-fucking, the overlapping sampling, the sound quality extremity, the jerky looping. His aesthetic makes “Cold Legs” a clear standout on a compilation of standouts, and if you click on this link, you’ll be treated to a roundup of several Warm Thighs tapes, including the “unofficial” Warm Thighs 3 tape from this year. Seriously, you need Warm Thighs in your body.

• Warm Thighs:
• SLF Tapes:
• Astro Nautico:

Ilyas Ahmed

“Skin In Circles”

Over the last couple years, Ilyas Ahmed has released a 12-inch with his Portland buddy Liz Harris (Grouper), a split with Steve Gunn, and a 10-inch called Live At On Land, but With Endless Fire is his first full-length release since 2009’s Goner. Our boys at Cerberus just reviewed the cassette version earlier this week; we recently interviewed Ahmed about the new album here; and we’re now ecstatic to premiere the video for standout track “Skin In Circles.” The pensive, amorphous footage of lights in the dark and sun through trees/curtains/etc. — by art director Julia Blackburn (who did that Levi’s campaign [and seemingly knows photographer Ryan McGinley!]) — wonderfully matches the understated doom-vibe of Ahmed’s strummy raga grooves. He says of the record, “[it] started out during an extended period of decline and gradually shifted focus to let more light in, to reconcile the murky depths and the ecstatic highs of everyday life.” Check out the video here:

With Endless Fire is out now on LP and cassette via Immune Recordings.

• Ilyas Ahmed:
• Immune Recordings:
• Julia Blackburn:

Neneh Cherry & The Thing

“Accordion” [Madvillain cover]

Last month, we posted Neneh Cherry and avant-jazz trio The Thing (Mats Gustafsson, Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, Paal Nilssen-Love)’s cover of Suicide’s “Dream Baby Dream.” It was pretty much unanimously loved. Today, we have a video for “Accordion,” their cover of the classic Madvillain track. When Cherry has the mic, it’s like the place get like, “Ah yeah!,” leaving pussy cats like wild hoes need Kotex. Got more lyrics than the church got “Ooh Lords,” etc.!

Check it out above, and then plan to pick up the group’s album, The Cherry Thing, June 19 via Smalltown Supersound.

• Neneh Cherry:
• Smalltown Supersound:

Francis Bebey

African Electronic Music 1975-1982 [album stream]

What happens when you work for free? You dream of escaping to somewhere exotic while working for free! Sometimes thoughts of escaping are essential. But with the internet, this notion is weird, since escaping within the internet is both a place to find where to escape to and where you want to burn down. Can’t burn down the internet, th’oh. However, if you found African Electronic Music 1975-1982 on the internet, which here you are doing exactly that, buy and download it so you can escape the reality of driving home. And what an escape it is. Not only is this shit FUCKING clever (@”NewTrack”), but it’s both African flavored and (mostly, I believe) sung in French. Yeah, I get why it’s French and African, but it’s beautiful and a delight to run to when you down on travel dough.

• Francis Bebey:
• Born Bad Records:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.