Aim Low & Les Beyond
“String Theory”

What is more thrilling than a high-speed boat chase? Answer: Rob Feulner creating a video for this collaboration between Montreal’s Aim Low & Les Beyond, featuring a high-speed boat chase (crosscut with some ducks). Seriously goosebump-raising greatness going on with these nine minutes; every single shot of this video is not only interesting and cool to look at, but also downright gripping. It’s the colors, the textures, how the natural composition of the shots in the source VHS videos are so vibrantly (and, to a degree, violently) accented with Feulner’s wax paper-layering style. But the music, yeah, the music is what’s got me clawing the arms of my easy chair like a nervous kitty here — rip-roaring guitars that swell and swell and swell as the action rises and the plot thickens, creeping with intimidating inertia, getting all up in the listener’s/watcher’s business while also psyching out the psyche in more subtle, subconscious ways at the same time.

Feulner’s They Live We Sleep Cassettes imprint is notorious for having rad releases thrown out in ridiculously short runs (like the measly 25 copies he printed of Acheron’s excellent debut tape last year). This Aim Low & Les Beyond tape carries a run of 32, so depending how quickly you can gather up your jaw once you’re through the video, you might want to get on this sucker quick.

• Aim Low:
• Les Beyond:
• They Live We Sleep Cassettes:

Teenage Sweater

“Oceans and Seas”

What do you get when you have a Teenage Sweater, a Blouse, and Wet Hair? I think it’s something like the Allison character in The Breakfast Club. You know, the weird one balancing out the five-way representation of 80s high school student bodies across the United States. Kind of strange. Kind of dreamy. Kind of drum machine.

Listen to “Oceans and Seas” below, and buy Teenage Sweater’s OK EP from These Are My Friends Records. It’s the kind of thing that belongs on cassette.

• Teenage Sweater:
• These Are My Friends Records:

Giuseppe Ielasi / Enrico Malatesta

Rudimenti [excerpt]

It’s overwhelming. Electroacoustic/acousmatic/gaussian/binaural/phantom organ/air conditioner pioneers Entr’acte have just simultaneously tossed out so many new releases that it’s difficult to know where to start. The only means to resolve this complex decision is to turn to my Metro horoscope, which tells me that I should consider listening to more Giuseppe Ielasi. It’s such a useful, UK-wide public-transport-based newspaper sometimes.

In this release, Ielasi is taking a well-earned break from battering flimsy sheets of innocent metal and is joined by percussionist Enrico Malatesta. True to the Entr’acte tradition, there aint a chord in the house — this joint is a back-to-roots, purist take on electroacoustic composition. Motors randomly generate scintillating noises as Malatesa finds amazing new ways to play cymbals. Rudimenti is out now on vacuum-packed CD, so follow your destiny and buy it.

• Giuseppe Ielasi:
• Enrico Malatesta:
• Entr’acte:



Holy shit. Wednesday. Hi. Fuck, can we just skip you? How about taking a half day? But damn, I made a commitment to blow smoke after work with some pals and then hit up Grams in the nursing home. Fresh the new WE ALL IN THE MATRIX mixtape from DJ/PURPLE/IMAGE (Alex Gray)? Yes, I can hang on that. As usual, the tracks, featuring “imagerevisions” of DJ Roc, 2 Chainz, Soulja Boy, etc., are real laxx while the digital age slithers throughout delicate melodies. And it’s almost an entire whisper. The whole mixtape. It’s as if he tryna treat this release with the fragility of a Wednesday. Keeping it real on the level. Ensuring it’s moving forward without harsh disruption or anticipation. It’s just here, y’all. Like a present afterthought. Something momentary and existent, but not as fleeting or shunned. It’s desired. And may just be desired every Wednesday for the rest of your life. Maybe.




“Invasion,” from unhappybirthday’s new Crash Symbols tape, Sirup, sounds an awful lot like Future Islands covering some part of the Mega Man X soundtrack. And then I found out that unhappybirthday was actually from some little city in Germany, which explained why most of the song titles on the album were indiscernible to my US eyes. The whole tape is touched with that kind of downtuned 80s tiredness that was surely shaped in the basements of bored teenagers messing around with synthesizers and playing video games. Kind of sounds like when I lived in Iowa.

Listen to the whole tape below, buy it from Crash Symbols, and dust off the old Super Nintendo. You won’t regret any of it.

• Crash Symbols:

Various Artists: Night People

Spent Minds [compliation]


Whoever doesn’t keep up with the Night People homepage usually misses out on compilations like Spent Minds, with tapes being bought up like WHOA. Label owner Shawn Reed is always pimping the freshest musics such as Blanche Blanche Blanche, Femminielli, Blonde God, Outside World, Fancy Books, Lazy Magnet, etc. OMG, and this Happy Jawbone Family Band is the NAZZZTY. That Scott and Charlenes Wedding LP split. Reppin’ the Gem Jones. And of course Ry-Ry “der” Garbes. Also, fucking, huge October sale: “Buy 4 tapes get 1 Free, or buy 6 tapes get 2 Free to anywhere in the world.” And three LPs on the “soon” and “later” horizons from Featureless Ghost, Goldendust, and Merchandise. Flagrancy is a stinky cologne.

Check out the compilation HERE, then the website, and then your physical releases and to the future!

• Night People:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.