Belle and Sebastian
“Come on Sister” / “I Didn’t See It Coming (Richard X mix)”

On July 19, Belle and Sebastian will release the final single from last year’s Write About Love (TMT Review). It’ll come in the form of a 12-inch, featuring the lead single “Come on Sister” (which will also appear reworked by Tony Doogan), a remix of “I Didn’t See It Coming” by Cold Cave member Richard X, and “Blue Eyes of a Millionaire,” a track that was only available on some version of the new album. Check out two videos they made to celebrate the single.

“I Didn’t See It Coming (Richard X mix)” video:

• Belle and Sebastian:
• Rough Trade:
• Matador:


“A Meal Can Be Made”

Nowadays, Dominick Fernow is probably best known as a member of Cold Cave, but he’s better known to me (and anyone who means anything to me — looking at you, Mom) as Prurient. Both his live performances and records — particularly Shipwrecker’s Diary, The History of Aids, and Black Vase (but also Prurient, And Still, Wanting, and Pleasure Ground!) — have truly changed how I experience/think about music. On July 19, Prurient will release his Hydra Head debut with Bermuda Drain. Check out “A Meal Can Be Made” above, courtesy of Stereogum. It sounds nothing like old Prurient.

• Prurient:
• Hydra Head:

Holiday Shores


Alright, so that’s a pretty awesome album cover! Can the music live up?? “Spells” is a breezy, lighthearted, possibly rollicking track. I’m into the keyboard sound they’re using and the overall relaxed feeling it evokes. (via Get Off the Coast)

• Holiday Shores:
• Twosyllable Records:


“A Full Embrace”

I’ve really been enjoying some of the more ambient tracks over at Bridgetown Records. Jovan Moran, who records under Brahms, is a definite highlight, with vague melodic material peaking up behind a light audio fog. For more, click here to download a 21-song compilation with samples of all the label’s summer releases. Lots of unapologetic rocking goes down on this thing too, which is a great contrast over an hour’s span.

• Bridgetown:

Circuit des Yeux


Circuit des Yeux (a.k.a. Haley Fohr) is back with her third full-length, Portrait. Check out the video for “3311,” which is directed by the ubiquitous Robert Beatty (Three Legged Race, Hair Police, BxC). The album’s being released by De Stijl, who also put out Circuit des Yeux’s first two albums, Symphone (2008) and Sirenum (2009).

• Circuit Des Yeux:
• Haley Fohr:
• De Stijl:

Eternal Tapestry & Sun Araw

“Night Gallery III”

First there was Simon & Schuster, then there was Schwebel, Goetz & Sieben, and now, at long last, we have Eternal Tapestry & Sun Araw! On July 19, Thrill Jockey will release the debut collaborative between these two mainstays of post-(pre-)[anterior-](intra-)modern psychedelia. The album is the result of some good ol’ fashioned improv, recorded in studio during last year’s SXSW.

• Eternal Tapestry:
• Sun Araw:
• Thrill Jockey:
• Barnes & Noble:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.