Bird Names
“Grow Each Other”

Last year, Georgia group Bird Names released their fifth album, Metabolism: A Salute to the Energy of the Sun, on Northern Spy. It was a completely unrefined, lo-fi shit-brew of melodic quirk and rhythmic oddbeats, garage-kraut twang and demented-pop. And it was fucking great. “Grow Each Other,” the album’s third track, just got the Vimeo treatment. As you’ll soon see, the video, directed by Francis Carr, is a perfect visual representation of Bird Names’ aesthetic: bright, pulsating, and jarring. Check out the video above, and head over to Northern Spy to pick up Metabolism, as well as new albums released last week from Donovan Quinn and the Charles Gayle Trio.

• Bird Names:
• Northern-Spy: http://northern-spy.commel



In 2010, Finnish composer Olli Aarni (cool name) called himself Ous Mal (even cooler) and released a lovely record called Nuojuva Halava (coolest). Apparently, Aarni realized that his album name sounded totally awesome and decided to change his recording name to Nuojuva (super fucking cool). Under this new moniker, Nuojuva will release a new album entitled Valot Kaukaa March 27 on Preservation Records. So this means that sometime in 2014 this guy will call himself “Valot” and release an album called Nivekken Whompidompus… or something.

But until then, we have the cozy aimless bliss of Valot Kaukaa to keep us company. Comfortable lines of flute, piano, and muted horn dance together atop crackling faraway vocals, which are iced with layers of birdsong and delicate guitar in “Laakso” (which reminds me a lot of the fan who sits on the other side of the room from me), and is also streaming on the label’s site.

• Nuojuva:
• Preservation:

Chrysta Bell

“Real Love”

I’m of the opinion that nothing more needs to be said about David Lynch’s 2011 album beyond its title: Crazy Clown Time. Either you like your clowns crazed or you don’t. Chrysta Bell, on the other hand, who’s worked with producer Lynch for the past 14 years on one album, takes a bit more delving. Lynch’s influence and aesthetic visions are still present, but more in the framing of the music than its actual content. Fans familiar with his film’s smoky jazz proclivities and Americana highway fetishism (see: Blue Velvet, Twin Peaks, etc.) will understand immediately why he likes Ms. Bell.

While the beginning of “Real Love” could be an outtake from CCT, the rest of the video belongs to Bell, both in Sound and in Vision. If there’s something that Lynch alone is surely incapable of, it’s to torque his abs so alarmingly. Don’t worry, Bell’s got it under control. Her album This Train is available now from her very own label, La Rose Noire. [via Dazed Digital]

• Chrysta Bell:


“Octopus In Your Dreams”

It is certainly no new thing to liken the vastness of Earth’s oceans to the boundless void of outer space, but it is a relevant comparison to observe at a time like this. While many modern synthesizer musicians are star-gazing and emitting cosmic visions and extraterrestrial landscapes, Panabrite looks down the depths of our own ocean, a place where weightlessness and darkness can be just as alien and frightening as what’s beyond our atmosphere. The similarities that can be drawn between the sea and space also includes their potential soundtracks. Distant bleeping synths may be a passing spaceship, or possibly a submarine. Delicate arpeggios may be bubbles of air hurriedly racing to the surface, or it may be distant stars and planets shining through the pitch-blackness. Just change the cover art from a supernova to a sea anemone and include words like “deep, barnacles, dive, and abyss” to the track titles and suddenly we’re underwater.

Panabrite is Seattle-based Norman Chambers, and whether he’s zipping around space or sinking into the briny deep, he is creating magically transportive music. Mesmerizing ambience and drifting analog synthesizer arpeggiations make up Sub-Aquatic Meditation, his newest release out now on Aguirre Records. This is Panabrite’s first LP, but only after a whole bunch of cassettes released over the past few years. The video is for the track “Octopus In Your Dreams” and is just that. You can also stream the whole album on the label’s site.

• Panabrite:
• Aguirre:

DJ Rashad

“Shoot Me”

DJ Rashad, who released my favorite record of 2011, has been making music at a breakneck pace. In the last several weeks, he’s released a handful of tracks via his SoundCloud, a video for “Stick Up” (a collaboration with DJ Manny and Brenmar), and is currently readying two albums: a 20-track monster called Teklife: Vol. 1: Welcome to the Chi and a follow-up, appropriately titled Teklife: Vol. 2. The former is due soon-ish on Lit City, a new NY- and footwork-/juke-based label that Rashad has started with Aziza Man (@J-Cush, #workaholic, #partyman, #pizzaface). AND: on top of all of this, one of Rashad’s latest tracks, “Shoot Me,” just got a video courtesy of Ashes57 — check it out above.

Meanwhile, Rashad and Aziza Man have been tearing shit up in New York. They played a show yesterday at the Cameo Gallery with DJ Spinn, DJ Manny, Falty DL, Dave Q, and Loefah, and they have another on Friday at Santos Party House, also with Spinn and Manny. These guys are clearly living the ☨€Kℒ ૉƒⅇ. And so am I. Vicariously. Follow Lit City for the latest and greatest, and stay tuned for more Lit City release news.

• DJ Rashad:
• Aziza Man:!/AZIZAMAN

Three Legged Race

“Dr. Wrong Element”

I would argue that the ‘experimental artists’ often covered in this section are searching for new outlets to evolve and elevate their sound. Not to insinuate that the search ever halts, but with the modern synthesizer explosion — that we are probably still in the midst of — comes plenty of artists content to ride the fad out without digging too deep. Robert Beatty, performing as Three Legged Race, is not one of the coasters. There are plenty of tickling, familiar tones on his new 12-inch EP, but they decorate and serve a minimal, droning bass thump that’s almost noble in its insistence. I guess it could be described as a new take on proto-techno, but there’s a modern flavor to it all that melds with a definite analog vibe and escapes clear categorization.

Preview the opening track from the Wrong Element 12-inch here:

And watch Beatty’s promotional video here:

• Three Legged Race:
• Acoustic Division:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.