Bird Names
“Phantoms & Fortune”

“Phantoms & Fortune” is off Bird Names’ forthcoming album Metabolism: A Salute to the Energy of the Sun. The album’s due March 8 on the fresh, new, so-far-really-awesome Northern-Spy Records. We loved their last album, Sings the Browns (released on Upset the Rhythm), so you know, we’ll probably enjoy this one, too.

• Bird Names: http://www.myspace.com/birdnames
• Northern-Spy: http://northern-spy.com

Little Wings

“How Come?”

YAY! On February 26, Little Wings (a.k.a. Kyle Fields) is releasing a new album, Black Grass, on Marriage Records. How come? Exactly. Also check out his recent Daytrotter session here.

• Kyle Draws: http://www.kyledraws.com
• Marriage: http://www.marriagerecs.com

Monotonix

“Before I Pass Away”

Monotonix are releasing Not Yet on Sub Pop Drag City. Album’s due January 25 via K Drag City. It was recorded by Mr. Steve Albino, who has recorded other stuff for Southern Lord Drag City. Anyway, check out this track, “Before I Pass Away,” off the to-be-Slumberland-Drag-City-released Not Yet.

In other news, I miss Gastr Del Sol.

• Monotonix: http://www.monotonix.com
• Drag City: http://www.dragcity.com

Marnie Stern

“The Things You Notice” [remixed by Max Tundra]

Marnie Stern, lovingly profiled by The New Yorker, has been remixed by Max Tundra. NICE DUDE!

• Marnie Stern: http://www.myspace.com/marniestern1
• Kill Rock Stars: http://www.killrockstars.com

[Photo: Nautical Mile]

Grails

“I Led Three Lives”

Portland’s Grails’ Deep Politcs’ release date is on March’s 8th day.

• Grails: http://www.myspace.com/grailsongs
• Temporary Residence Ltd.: http://temporaryresidence.com

Kanye West and Jay-Z

“H.A.M.”

Kanye West, Jay-Z, “H.A.M.” — all three will appear on Watch the Throne, reportedly due in March via Def Jam. Visit the album’s Facebook page (yes, the album has a Facebook page) to hear “H.A.M.” Then do other stuff on Facebook.

• Kanye West: http://kanyewest.com
• Jay-Z: http://www.jay-z.com

  

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.