Double Dagger
“No Allies”

More was released last year on Thrill Jockey. The Masks EP was released in March on Thrill Jockey. Seems so easy, but why then can’t I get my hot single released on Thrill Jockey?

• Double Dagger:
• Thrill Jockey:

Yo La Tengo

“Here To Fall (Pete Rock remix)”

Yo La Tengo just got a little less white (sorta), as the mighty Pete Rock has remixed the opening track, “Here To Fall,” from last year’s Popular Songs. It’s released as a digital single via iTunes today, but look for it June 8 on the Here To Fall Remixes EP if you ain’t into that iTunes bullshit.

• Yo La Tengo:
• Pete Rock:
• Matador:



It’s been over a decade since we’ve heard from Markus Popp, but he’s finally back with some new music as Oval. He’ll be releasing an EP titled Oh on June 15, which will be followed by a double album, O, in September. Check out the new track “Ah!” and remind yourself how awesome Oval is.

• Thrill Jockey:

Flavorpill Fix Episode One

Screaming Females, Double Dagger, Future Islands

Last month, we told you about The Flavorpill Fix (TMT News), a new online music show that features videos, concert footage, and exclusive interviews “meant to be consumed in order, in its entirety, like a TV show or a mixtape.” This month, we’re telling you to watch it.

The debut episode of The Flavorpill Fix is out now and features Screaming Females, Double Dagger, and Future Islands, as well as MiniBoone (hey Doug!), Hammock, and Sabrina Chap. Watch the video above and click here for more info about The Flavorpill Fix.

• Flavorwire:

Chocolate Grinder Mix 32

“Inglitchious Bassterds”

This installment is basically a wet dream of mine come to sticky fruition. When Tiny Mix Tapes started grinding chocolate, I never dreamed I’d be able to gather Venetian Snares, Kid606, and Mochipet on a single mix, all of whom I consider to be among the biggest names in glitch. Their supporting cast is nothing to scoff at either, featuring a righteous indie rap selection from Themselves (a track likely to make Jay-Z retire for the 24th and final time) and an uppity dance floor pump from breakbeat legend Si Begg. Also, Chad VanGaalen’s Black Mold adds a certain conserved madness to the festivities, completely unlike everything he makes with a guitar, while ill.gates & adamduke’s quirky “Closet Caveman” will satisfy those eagerly awaiting a new Tipper album. Kick ass.

01. Themselves - “Oversleeping” (Crownsdown)
Start time: 0:00; Links: Anticon - Themselves

02. Venetian Snares - “Chainsaw Fellatio” (Filth)
Start time: 3:15; Links: Planet Mu - Venetian Snares

03. Kids In Tracksuits - “Zone feat. Mr. Lif” (Zone 7”)
Start time: 7:51; Links: Fluid Ounce - Kids In Tracksuits

04. Mochipet - “Godzilla New Year (Original Mix)” (Godzilla New Year EP)
Start time: 11:53; Links: Daly City - Mochipet

05. Black Mold - “No Dream Nation” (Snow Blindness Is Crystal Antz)
Start time: 15:45; Links: Flemish Eye - Black Mold

06. Kid606 - “Mash Up The Place” (Disciples Of Dread EP)
Start time: 18:34; Links: Tigerbeat6 - Kid606

07. Si Begg - “Entry Level” (24Bit Error Collection)
Start time: 23:01; Links: Si Begg

08. Magnum 38 - “Slave” (A Tribute To Grace Jones)
Start time: 28:22; Links: Tigerbass - Magnum 38

09. ill.gates & adamduke - “Closet Caveman” (Closet Caveman EP)
Start time: 32:28; Links: Muti Music - ill.gates & adamduke

10. Robot Koch - “Away From” (Death Star Droid)
Start time: 39:40; Links: Robots Don’t Sleep - Robot Koch

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]

Zach Hill

“Green Bricks”

Zach Hill has somehow found time to record a 4-way split 7-inch with Raleigh Moncrief, Mason Lindahl, and Ellie Fortune, due in June on Life’s Blood Records. Hill’s insanely mind-blowing track will also appear on an upcoming solo album due in September, but as we always say, why buy or listen to music outside of the Chocolate Grinder?

• Life’s Blood:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.