“Where I Belong”

Happy Ash Wednesday, all you Catholics in the TMT website house. I’m watching this video at work, headphones in, and laughing at the beat of Jesus’ steps. Thanks for the giggles, Dean Blunt @video_assembly. Mmm, where did JC get that beard trimmed? Best part, obviously, is the super-cereal music: almost church keys, way bold stings, electronic wave fade, etc. DVA dropping all the freshest beats on forthcoming album Pretty Ugly via Hyperdub on March 20.

• DVA: http://twitter.com/#!/ScratchaDVA
• Hyperdub: http://www.hyperdub.net

DJ Rashad & DJ Spinn

“We Trippy Mane”

We just posted DJ Rashad’s “Shoot Me” video last week, but that’s not going to stop us from posting another new Rashad track, “We Trippy Mane,” this time in collaboration with fellow Ghetto Tek partner-in-crime, DJ Spinn. Deadly minimalism right here. And there’s fucking Auto-Tune on this! Check it out:

Meanwhile, we’re patiently waiting for news about DJ Rashad’s upcoming 20-track full-length, Teklife: Vol. 1: Welcome to the Chi. We’re not positive if it’s still titled that or if it’s still 20 tracks or if any of Rashad’s newest songs will be on it, but something should be coming out sometime on Rashad and Aziza Man’s so-new-it-doesn’t-have-any-releases-yet label, Lit City. We’ll let you know when we hear more.

• DJ Rashad: http://soundcloud.com/djrashadteklife
• DJ Spinn: https://twitter.com/#!/DJ_Spinn
• Aziza Man: https://twitter.com/#!/AZIZAMAN
• Lit City: https://twitter.com/#!/LITCITYTRAX

Samantha Glass

“Human Voice”

It’s constant madness to continue building my cassette collection. I want specific sounds/moods, and the length has to be just right. There’s only a specific amount of slots I have on my rack before I have to start selling ‘em off too. Also, if I continue to listen, the further these tapes will degrade and warp; I only buy music that’ll enhance that effect later. So, to make the cut means a lot. Call me biased, but it seems Britt and ‘Manda over at Not Not Fun know my ear bone way well. After scoping Samantha Glass’ 2011 Digitalis and Not Not Fun cassettes, Glass’ fourthcoming release, Midnight Arrival, should be a keeper. Mmm, all this late-night driving music makes my foot heavy. #neonlights #wavingalot #windowcracked

• Samantha Glass: http://samanthaglass.bandcamp.com
• Not Not Fun: http://notnotfun.com

Sun Araw Vs. Heat Wave

“Open”: This Is the Literature Mix - Disco Hermetics

Heat Wave wins! No use telling you why; just hear it for yourself. Even though this is a “versus” mix, it’s more like a pillow fight mashup of your porno soul soundtrack, mom’s smooth jazz, and pop’s funk R&B. But you know this mix was probably made during their last tour in Australia with Prince Rama. Now, I’m not necessarily happy about Sun Araw losing this match. But there’s a mini-depth to Sun Araw: keep Cameron Stallones in Sun Araw and remove Sun Araw as DJ. Though, I’m sure there are plenty of people out there who would want Cameron Stallones working at a new-age crystal shop rather than taking their girlfriends.

• Sun Araw: http://www.sunaraw.com
• Heat Rave: http://heatrave.com
• dublab: http://dublab.com



A proposition: Sascha + Julienne = Saschienne. Egon Schiele? Nah, but equally intimate! They’re husband and wife, you see, and though their featured track, “Unknown,” blazes through your wifi darkly and with a slightly sexual sheen, there’s a certain romance to the thing. He — the acclaimed Mr. Sascha Funke (Mr. Funke?! Nah, but equally… uh… rhythmic?) — has been hailed as “one of Germany’s greatest Techno auteurs,”, while she — Mrs. Julienne Dessagne — is a contemporary piano player and semi-professional dancer. Together, they sound fully prepared to go head-to-head with Geoff Barrow and Beth Gibbons. Saschienne vs. BGGB. A nice symmetry and balance, no? But back to the track: Saschienne is clearly the project of practiced hands. Mature restraint, subtle mounting sounds, tasteful and tasty timbres. As you listen to “Unknown,” it’ll become clear that somewhere out in the pulsing glow of space, certain stars have aligned, and in that precision Saschienne was born.

The album, also named Unknown, will be out on March 26 from Kompakt.

• Saschienne: http://soundcloud.com/kompakt/saschienne-unknown
• Kompakt: http://www.kompakt.fm

Odd Future


Odd Future has released the first video from their forthcoming group album, OF Tape Vol. 2. Produced by Left Brain, “Rella” features the beautiful poetry of Domo Genesis, Hodgy Beats, and Tyler, The Creator. The video’s especially safe for work, so consider using the office projector.

• Odd Future: http://www.oddfuture.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.