Foot Village
“Reggae War Zone”

Check out this sweet video for “Reggae War Zone” off last year’s Anti-Magic. The video was created by a class of 50 students who specifically chose the song to make an animation for. I fucking love Foot Village. Maybe you do too?

• Foot Village:
• Upset the Rhythm:


“New Farmer” [feat. Mia Doi Todd]

This track was part one in a five-part weekly series that will culminate in an EP called vosotros presents: Rhoda. This Chocolate Grinder post is part 78 in a projected 269,049,321-part series.

• vosotros:
• Mia Doi Todd:


footage from first reunion show (10-minute mix)

Spread the word: Pavement have reunited!

• Pavement:
• Matador:



Kisses, an L.A.-based duo featuring Jesse Kivel and Zinzi Edmundson, will release on April 27 their first single, “Bermuda,” on Surrounded By Sound. They’re obviously influenced by disco, but don’t they sound kinda like this Swedish fish?

• Kisses:
• Surrounded by Sound:

[Photo: Jessica Koslow]

Latapaza Band


Strut is reissuing Duncan Brooker’s Afro-Rock Volume 1 compilation next week. Unfortunately, you won’t hear this Latapaza Band song on it because it’s a bonus, non-album track. Fortunately, TMT is here for you.

• Strut:

Chocolate Grinder Mix 28


This mix would be an ideal complement to any kind of high-octane activity, perhaps fighting bears, slaying dragons, or maybe even folding laundry. If you ever wondered what the fallout was from Justice’s or Mr. Oizo’s Analog Worms Attack, you’ve come to the right place. Some of the tracks found within the meaty center of this mix bounce, others wobble, and a few are just downright nasty in their attempt to sully your ears with electro dirtbombs. Variety isn’t necessarily the goal here, nor is it musical ambition or envelope-pushing. Just wigglin’ hips and the urge to kick off your work shoes and slide around the kitchen floor in socked feet. Better yet, throw this on for your next walk or jog and feel like you own the sidewalk.

01. Justin Faust - “Holdin’ On”
Start time: 0:00; Links: Justin Faust

02. Crookers - “We Love Animals” [Ft. Soulwax & Mixhell]
Start time: 4:43; Links: Crookers - Soulwax - Mixhell

03. The Subs - “Mitsubitchi (Bobberman remix)”
Start time: 8:10; Links: The Subs - Bob Rifo(Bobberman)

04. Faithless - “Not Going Home (Herve’s Heat up the Club Remix)”
Start time: 11:09; Links: Faithless - Herve

05. Fugitive - “Supafly (A1 Bassline Remix)”
Start time: 14:30; Links: Fugitive - A1 Bassline

06. Lee Mortimer & Foamo - “Superman”
Start time: 18:50; Links: Lee Mortimer - Foamo

07. Volta Cab - “Clarissa”
Start time: 23:42; Links: Volta Cab

08. Wolfgang Gartner - “Undertaker”
Start time: 31:08; Links: Wolfgang Gartner

09. H.Y.D.E. - “Face Down”
Start time: 37:22

10. Baby Monster - “She Comes Alive”
Start time: 41:26; Links: Baby Monster

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.