John Maus

Watch the video for the closing track from John Maus’ upcoming We Must Become The Pitiless Censors Of Ourselves. I’ve got to say, there is something sad and beautiful about this combination of sound and visual, the way that so many elements – Maus’ affected voice, psychedelic digital color manipulation, the tiny drum machine, manic synth lines – all fail to obscure how soaring of a pop song “Believer” is.

• John Maus:
• Ribbon Music:


“Pacific Temple”

Attention echo-y, shimmering drone lovers: Higuma — Evan Caminiti (Barn Owl) and Lisa McGee — have a new album entitled Pacific Fog Dreams on Root Strata.

Attention everyone else: I hear Foo Fighters have a new album out.

• Root Strata:



The TMT staff is in love with Noveller, so we’re kinda obligated to post the new video for “Ends,” directed by Chris Habib. The track is off the drastic classicist’s new album, Glacial Glow, due May 30 on Weird Forest/Saffron. (via Stereogum)

• Noveller:
• Weird Forest:
• Chris Habib:

Kyle Bobby Dunn


On May 3, Desire Path Recordings will release Kyle Bobby Dunn’s new full-length, Ways of Meaning (TMT News). The six-track album, limited to 500, deals specifically with “time, memory, consequence, identity, and meaning.” Grab it while you can.

• Kyle Bobby Dunn:
• Desire Path:



Happy Happy Joy Joy! LAKE have a new album, Giving and Receiving, on K.

• K:


“Vowel After a Pause”

Ohayo was formed by Andreas Söderström (Ass), Johan Berthling (Tape), and Per Eklund during a tour as backing band for El Perro del Mar, a.k.a. Sarah Assbring. Their new album, The State We Are In, is due May 10 on Häpna. Maybe now they can have El Perro del Mar back them up on tour?

• Häpna:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.