Over the last several years, Erik Skodvin’s Miasmah imprint has released some fantastic albums by Marcus Fjellströn, FNS, Simon Scott, Svarte Greiner, and (TMT favorite) Kreng. I’d like to add Juv’s new self-titled album to the list. The music was actually recorded between 1996 and 1998, but the Norwegian duo of Are Mokkelbost and Marius von der Fehr just couldn’t get along well enough to finish the album. Thirteen years later, they put their differences aside and finally completed the album, and it’s being released tomorrow.

The video above is for “Forvarsel,” with images from a silent film, Forsvinningens Gang, by Iselin Lønn. If you’re a fan of minimalism, drone, field recordings, and microtonal music, there’s nothing stopping you from listening to the full album except you. Stream the full album below (be sure to listen to “Sut”!) and purchase the album here:

• Miasmah: http://www.miasmah.com

Therapies Son

Over The Sea [EP]

I wrote music when I was 19. It was really shitty. Alex Jacob, on the other hand, is only 19 but writing decidedly non-shitty music under the moniker Therapies Son. His debut EP, Over the Sea, features five tracks of sublime glimmering, glistening, and glittering — listen to it and you’ll know what I’m talking about — a combination that suits his brand of retro-pop well. It’s a pretty cinematic and hopeful aesthetic for music inspired by a broken heart.

Over the Sea is due digitally March 22 and on vinyl April 16 (Record Store Day) via Sargent House. Listen to the full EP here (and here):

• Therapies Son: http://www.myspace.com/therapiessonmusic
• Sargent House: http://www.sargenthouse.com


“Don’t Waste Your Light On Me”

I’ve been keeping an eye on Swedish label Emotion ever since they released the genre-defining (for me at least) 7” by White Ring and OoOoo. They’ve got a new double sided 7” coming up the pipes by dance pop artist Nottee. Check that charming “Don’t Waste Your Time” video as well as this charming youtube comment: “It sound a bit like Ace of Base…”

• Nottee: http://www.facebook.com/Notteemusic
• Emotion: http://eeemotion.se/

Nite Jewel

“Am I Real?”

For some reason I don’t remember such extreme slap bass layering this track. But there you have it. Nite Jewel also posted a slightly sunnier, washed out Classixx remix of “Am I Real” on her website, which has been embedded here for you specifically:

And while you're at it you might as well listen to new track "It Goes Through Your Head" from Mrs. Nite's upcoming 12" on Mexican Summer. It's seriously inspirational, but for some reason I see Tom Cruise's sunglass riddled face smiling too wide when I hear it.

• Nite Jewel: http://www.nitejewel.com/
• Mexican Summer: http://www.mexicansummer.com/shop/nite-jewel-it-goes-through-your-head/

TV on the Radio

“Caffeinated Consciousness”

Nine Types of Light, TV on the Radiohead’s new album, is due April 12 via Interscope.

• TV on the Radio: http://www.tvontheradio.com
• Interscope: http://www.interscope.com

Chris Forsyth

“New Pharmacist Boogie (for Jack)”

You know Chris Forsyth. Not only is he a member of Peeesseye (with Jaime Fennelly and Fritz Welch) and Phantom Limb & Bison, but he also heads the fantastic Evolving Ear label and collaborates frequently with musicians like Meg Baird, Talibam!, and Nate Wooley. Perhaps you recognize last year’s insane album cover for Pestilence & Joy (TMT Review), or maybe you were even lucky enough to see him perform alongside veritable artists like Träd Gräs och Stenar, Steve Gunn, Tetuzi Akiyama, and Mountains. Hell, if you’re an experimental musician, you could very well have collaborated with him at some point in your life — perhaps when you decided to stop oscillating your tones and started modulating your drones?

In any case, Family Vineyard is supporting Forsyth’s omnipresence by releasing his third solo album, Paranoid Cat. The album, due March 29, features Forsyth playing with a band featuring members of Peeesseye, Mountains, D. Charles Speer & the Helix, and others. In fact, he’ll be playing a couple shows leading up to its release later this month with the so-called Paranoid Cat Band (specifically, drummer Mike Pride, bassist Peter Kerlin, organist Don Bruno, pianist Hans Chew), preceded by an appearance on WFMU’s The Long Rally. Mark your Google calendars.

Check out the dates and album tracklist over in the news section. It’s essentially the same post that you see here, but feel free to read it again for memory retention.

• Chris Forsyth: http://thechrisforsyth.com
• Family Vineyard: http://family-vineyard.com
• Evolving Ear: http://www.evolvingear.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.