Mykki Blanco
“Head is a Stone”

Yo, that’s my boi Bobbi-B with the gold hair there on the roof. Holy shit, he been try’na get a gig for a lifetime (26 years) and he finally mad… wait — shit. No, that’s just Michael Quattlebaum stripped from Mykki Blanco. But it makes sense for this “Head Is A Stone” video. It’s raw in an “IIIIIIIIIIIIIII’ve seen’t this kinda stuff before” way. And though most of her music has been more hype-hop creeps, here she’s, as I had said, getting raw. Actually, it’s one of those moments where you see it as raw, but the lyrics on this track are way more tame than her norm. On top of that, this video portrays more than what the song does, which is neat to me since she is a drag performer, thus we need the whole package to understand the aesthetic. Even though she transitions between self and drag-self. Mmm, I love a rule break. So nutritious. Be on the lookout for her new EP Mykki Blanco & The Mutant Angels on UNO NYC and on my mix coming this FriFri. #plug #plug #plug #lawlz #plug

• Mykki Blanco:


“The Trouble with Candyhands”

Deerhoof has a new one called Breakup Song. Despite its depressing title (wahhh!), the album was recently described by dummer Greg Saunier as “a slice of Cuban-flavored party-noise-energy music.” “The Trouble with Candyhands,” the first full taste from the album, is streaming below. File it under Cuban-flavored party-noise-energy music.

Breakup Song is out September 4 via Polyvinyl (US), ATP (UK/Europe), Lost and Lonesome (Australia/Oceania), High Note (China/Taiwan/Hong Kong/Singapore/Malaysia), and Joyful Noise (CassetteUnderground).

• Deerhoof:
• Polyvinyl:

A$AP Mob

“Bath Salt” (feat. Flatbush Zombies)

Another song about Bath Salts!? Still, it’s better than #yolo. A$AP Rocky, A$AP Ant, and the Flatbush Zombies have crafted a downright demonic PSA about the drug of choice for many cannibals in this God-fearing country. And here’s the real chiller: A$AP’s verse isn’t even the best! We’re used to the Harlem native stealing the spotlight in practically every track he guests on, but with this helter-skelter beat, the Flatbush Zombies are in their element, cackling through their verses with the same manic intensity of that notorious face-eater from Miami. A$AP still manages to come through with some witty lines (note to any potential Ms. Rockys — don’t bother unless you’re a lesbian), but as with all things in life, Zombies automatically win.

• A$AP Mob:
• Flatbush Zombies:

Freddy Ruppert


Freddy Ruppert, formerly known as This Song Is A Mess But So Am I and lead songwriter of Former Ghosts (with Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart, Zola Jesus’ Nika Roza and Tearist’s Yasmine Kittles), is about to release perhaps his most idiosyncratic project yet. The EP, titled Wait, is being released on cassette via NNA Tapes under his real name, which he’s been using since last year on two EPs (Sickling, Home From The Wars) and a full-length (Dove Hounds).

While the name change marks an ideological break from This Song Is A Mess But So Am I (a project originally intended to serve as catharsis for dealing with the loss of a family member), the instrumental EP also serves as an aesthetic departure from the Radioshack industrial hell of that project. Exploring the reverberated low-end frequencies of bell tones, field recordings, and piano, Ruppert takes on the themes of “expectation without an emotional resolution or climax,” a transitory, non-teleological exercise in dark ambient whose requirement of attentive, in-the-moment listening becomes its own reward. Or maybe there is no “reward” in the traditional sense with this sort of music. Rather than relying on the usual aesthetic tricks to keep the listener interested, “1,” the tense, enigmatic track below, shows how the fluidity of its sound and the textures themselves are enough to incite and maintain interest. Here, Ruppert is more ambient than industrial noise-pop, more Badalamenti than Xiu Xiu, and I’m liking it.

Check out “1” here and a trailer for the EP right below it:


Wait is due August 14 on NNA Tapes.

• Freddy Ruppert:
• NNA Tapes:

Lil B

Obama BasedGod [mixtape]

President Obama, who famously tattooed lyrics from Lil B’s “Tiny Pants Bitch” on his back (specifically, “Niggas in the hood think I’m flexing and I’m gay/ I make your bitch straight/ I take on the day.”), has just received TheBasedTreatment from Brandon McCartney himself. B’s new mixtape, his third this month, is called Obama BasedGod, and it almost makes me want to get off my ass and participate in something. Almost. But seriously: listen to/download this mixtape. BERRRANG-DANG-DANG!

• Lil B:



Last year, Yves/Son/Ace, the solo project of Matthew Ford (Factums, Love Tan, Evening Meetings), released a limited cassette on Night People called Unsung. Being as perceptive as it is, French label La Station Radar — responsible for 2012 albums like Je Suis Le Petit Chevalier’s An Age Of Wonder and Blanche Blancehe Blanche’s Papas Proof — figured the music was so good it had to press it on vinyl. The result is a 20-track, 44-minute, 33 RPM, limited-to-300 album that’s as gritty as it is immediate as it is drugged-the-fuck-out.

Unsung’s title track is the perfect example. The song is a desolate little number, with narcotic vocals and primitive beats nearly suffocating under the layers of yelping electronics. The accompanying video, by Robert Zverina, extends the detachment with hypnotic, distorted imagery that’s thoroughly disconnected and, quite frankly, terrifying. If this is the sound of pop as we draw closer to the apocalypse, we’re in for one dark and demented ride. If it’s not, then click play on the video below for “Unsung” and get ready for one dark and demented ride anyway.

You can also stream and/or download the track here:

Yves/Son/Ace’s Unsung, pressed on transparent red vinyl, is out now on La Station Radar.

• Yves/Son/Ace:
• La Station Radar:
• Robert Zverina:


  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.


Click here to apply