Nite Jewel
“Am I Real?”

For some reason I don’t remember such extreme slap bass layering this track. But there you have it. Nite Jewel also posted a slightly sunnier, washed out Classixx remix of “Am I Real” on her website, which has been embedded here for you specifically:

And while you're at it you might as well listen to new track "It Goes Through Your Head" from Mrs. Nite's upcoming 12" on Mexican Summer. It's seriously inspirational, but for some reason I see Tom Cruise's sunglass riddled face smiling too wide when I hear it.

• Nite Jewel:
• Mexican Summer:

TV on the Radio

“Caffeinated Consciousness”

Nine Types of Light, TV on the Radiohead’s new album, is due April 12 via Interscope.

• TV on the Radio:
• Interscope:

Chris Forsyth

“New Pharmacist Boogie (for Jack)”

You know Chris Forsyth. Not only is he a member of Peeesseye (with Jaime Fennelly and Fritz Welch) and Phantom Limb & Bison, but he also heads the fantastic Evolving Ear label and collaborates frequently with musicians like Meg Baird, Talibam!, and Nate Wooley. Perhaps you recognize last year’s insane album cover for Pestilence & Joy (TMT Review), or maybe you were even lucky enough to see him perform alongside veritable artists like Träd Gräs och Stenar, Steve Gunn, Tetuzi Akiyama, and Mountains. Hell, if you’re an experimental musician, you could very well have collaborated with him at some point in your life — perhaps when you decided to stop oscillating your tones and started modulating your drones?

In any case, Family Vineyard is supporting Forsyth’s omnipresence by releasing his third solo album, Paranoid Cat. The album, due March 29, features Forsyth playing with a band featuring members of Peeesseye, Mountains, D. Charles Speer & the Helix, and others. In fact, he’ll be playing a couple shows leading up to its release later this month with the so-called Paranoid Cat Band (specifically, drummer Mike Pride, bassist Peter Kerlin, organist Don Bruno, pianist Hans Chew), preceded by an appearance on WFMU’s The Long Rally. Mark your Google calendars.

Check out the dates and album tracklist over in the news section. It’s essentially the same post that you see here, but feel free to read it again for memory retention.

• Chris Forsyth:
• Family Vineyard:
• Evolving Ear:


“No Notion Of Anything Only Whatever Is What”

Denver-based Vitamins will be releasing a new 7” via Hot Congress this April. The A-side, “No Notion Of Anything Only Whatever Is What,” is a real krautrock gem. The video, directed by Rob Feulner, only makes it even more magnificent.

• Vitamins:
• Hot Congress:

Ken Seeno

“A Breezy Memory”

Ken Seeno, better known as the “other” guitarist from Ponytail, has a spaced-out new album on NNA Tapes. A lot of these synth exploration tapes can feel tossed off and a bit lazy (like gear demos) but Ken has made something that seems both highly composed and freely floating. It makes sense that his soundcloud has ‘Landscape’ as the genre tag.

A Breezy Memory by Ken Seeno

Driving Into Light / Blustery Day by Ken Seeno

• Ken Seeno:
• NNA:

Auto Delta Time

“The Origin”

Auto Delta Time’s album Inception comes out March 13 on Acoustic Division. Stream a bunch of tracks on their soundcloud, or listen to one of my favorites below. Lots of pure synth tones and a minimal, vague italian-horror vibe.

The Origin by AUTO ∆T

• Auto Delta Time:
• Acoustic Division:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.