“Heavenly Bodies”

Nascent shoegazers Tamaryn are about to drop album #2 on that ass come October 16 via Mexican Summer. You can watch a video for new track “Heavenly Bodies” from said LP, directed by Grant Singer, right about… now. I’m not sure, but I’m guessing they like Slowdive. You think Singer and Tamaryn were inspired by the video for “Shine”?

Anyway, I like Tamaryn. I love Slowdive (I would kill for you Neil Halstead, My Mystikal Master). Enjoy all the pretty colors.

• Tamaryn: http://www.tamarynmusic.com
• Mexican Summer: http://www.mexicansummer.com


“Crime Saga”

Luis Cran-Lawrence, otherwise known as Baba-X, specializes in house music with gothic touches built upon upbeat, melodic beats. Best known for his work with Zanzibar Chanel and Pink Notes, the 21-year old Melbourne native’s work is pervaded by 80s nostalgia and a sense of youthful abandon. With his latest solo EP, Sounds of the Concrete Forest Vol. 3, Baba-X aims for a deeper type of groove. “Crime Saga,” a relatively upbeat song that sounds like it came straight out of a Sega Genesis game, may be poppy from an auditory perspective, but when you’ve got Tristan Jalleh’s urban, Tetris-like visuals coming at you, the track suddenly feels unsettling, like a screensaver in the course of a revolt.

You can snag Sounds of the Concrete Forest Vol. 3 October 9, via This Thing.

• Baba-X: http://soundcloud.com/baba-x
• This Thing: http://www.thisthing.us


“Want 2” / “Lost Wood”

18+ are back with two new videos, and in contrast to their last few (“jet$,” “Remi_Red,” and song of the year “EXECUTION”), both “Want 2” and “Lost Wood” sound much more lighthearted, almost inviting. Not that their previous stuff was impenetrable, but the dark, moody tones and minimal beats always signified to me cold, sterile spaces, especially in the context of their creeped-out vids and fetishistic lyrics — not exactly the kind of stuff you turn to when you’re seeking silly things like transcendence. But absorption is certainly part of the game here, and this music’s incredibly seductive, with sex (“I lick your face while I say his name”) and violence (“Wish I could/ Guess I should/ Knock on wood/ Gag you good”) pulsating deep and loud from within the uncanny valley. Okay, I’m boring myself already. Just listen and feel for yourself. “Want 2” above, “Lost Wood” below.

• 18+: http://18plus18plus18plus.tumblr.com


MeMoRieS FRoM THe FuTuRe [EP stream]

Inspired by the likes of Repeat Pattern, Tru Master, and the ever eminent RZA, Billy Gomez, a.k.a MiNdToUcHbeaTs, has gone and dropped a remarkable new EP. MeMoRieS FRoM THe FuTuRe sits comfortably alongside his super-tight 2010 record ToNight aT NoON, which was also made available for free via the artist’s Bandcamp.

Originally from L.A., Gomez moved to South Korea to continue working on his various projects, which come in the form of ornate, Lynchian street photography in addition to his jazzy and lucid post hip-hop productions. Through embracing Seoul and its surroundings, Gomez has developed a keenness to make more of his work available. He is currently working on a new release that will see a convergence of previous material, along with the promise of some freshly-squeezed, sample-based tape beats. Let it be known: exciting things are in store from Downtown Gangnam!

• MiNdToUcHbeaTs: http://mindtouch.bandcamp.com


“Fuck Your Stuff”

Doomtree founding member P.O.S. doesn’t just play guitar; he throws it into a bonfire. He also sets fire to smartphones, which probably makes Steve Jobs cry in his puffy cloud bed up in heaven. The Minneapolis MC’s clip for “Fuck Your Stuff” is very much a riot scene, but it has plenty of humorous touches — the egregious fuzzing-out of any and all logos, playing soccer with a soccer ball (that’s on fire), and a gloomy back-alley party that somehow appears to be taking place during the day and the night.

Be on the lookout for We Don’t Even Live Here, the rapper’s next album, due October 23.

• P.O.S.: http://www.doomtree.net/p-o-s
• Rhymesayers: http://rhymesayers.com

Lil B

“California Boy”

Errrybody knows Lil B. Not only because he fucked you/your bitch, but also because he just can’t be ignored. Or properly intellectualized. If you stop following his Twitter or Facebook or YouTube stream for a day or so, then you’re already out of the loop. Which is to say: we’re all out of the loop. Which is also to say: there’s never been a loop — except perhaps for the one the media creates. Today, that Lil B/media loop is back in full force. “Another day, another Lil B track” goes the ancient Chinese proverb, but for Lil B’s latest video, we are treated to a rock song. Yes, Lil B is soon dropping a rock album, and “California Boy” is the first taste. This one’s sure to alienate even the most hardcore fans of The BasedGod, but thanks are in order, regardless: THANK YOU BASEDGOD!

• Lil B: http://www.basedworld.com


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.