John Dope & Rahim Samad

“Fat in ‘14 (ft. Broke/)”

This Saturday was some great times in Brooklyn. Cassette Store Day was remarkable. Met a bunch of great people. Caught up with a few I haven’t seen in awhile. And Daniel Bashin (Dirty Tapes CEO, COO, CFO, CTO) killed it on the cassette jockey scene. So, I’m super stoked to hear what’s next, and that is exactly John Dope & Rahim Samad newest track “Fat in ‘14 (ft. Broke/).”

With Broke/ on the vocals and John Dope & Rahim Samad on the production scene, music has never got grimier. p90 tuckin’, snot boogies, literal and otherwise, that pump up, forest-fires of smoke, untouchable echoing, sniping down, rap guillotine, Lenard Coen of rap, etc. The piano goes full beat here, amongst drum kit fiddling. Entirely fat vibed.

If you think there’s a beat scene outside of New York, please come back. Dirty Tapes is one of the forerunners. Catch up!

• John Dope:
• Rahim Samad:
• Dirty Tapes:



The best part of this track is in a shoe commercial. Normally, this wouldn’t be that big of a deal, but Slugabed can have a song on television and play Creamcake with A.G. Cook and Hannah Diamond in the same month.

“LEMME TAKE U 4 A RIDE” lives in a world of actual consumerism and played-at consumerism. Has Slugabed sold his soul to the man? Is he merely trolling Foot Locker? Either way, it doesn’t really matter, because it’s at least cool to see some weird, jittery pitched up stuff rather than some raging hip-hop or terrible EDM making a shoe line seem cool. The dubstep and footwork influences marry each other nicely, letting the track meander into some glitched-out futurama while still remaining grounded. Slugabed never takes it too seriously, either, and that’s why it’s cool enough for an Adidas commercial. It’s pointedly frivolous, and what’s cooler than that?

• Slugabed:


“Steady Mobbin’”

Another killer EP from Mister Saturday Night, this time from French producer Melja (real name Nathan Ifergan). While the label occasional doles out more low-key, minimal techno (such as Gunnar Huslam’s stunner from earlier in the year, Steady Mobbin’ contains three lean, no bullshit house tracks that are bumpin’ from start to finish.

The story goes that Ifergan was too young to attend the fabled MSN parties, but he managed to get in touch with Justin and Eamon at a Brooklyn record store. From there he cut these three gems specifically for the label, and they do not disappoint. Much like the well-curated vinyl they spin at their parties, MSN know some good tunes when they hear them, and you’ll be thinking the same after you stream Steady Mobbin’ below. The EP is out now and you can purchase the vinyl here.

• Mister Saturday Night:

M. Sage

Data in the Details

Matthew Sage is having quite a year. Between dropping a monumental 2xLP under his own glitch-ambient guise’s belt, coupled with some incredible vinyl and cassette releases for others out on his own Patient Sounds imprint (particular props due to the debut vinyl release for Japanese droner Hakobune), the kid managed to go and get hisself married and move to Chicago, leaving us kindly Colorado folk (he was born and raised in Fort Collins, just north of Denver) for… I dunno, the cows?

But oh, this isn’t about me you say? Right, right, I guess this is about the mighty rise of the mighty M. (Sage, that is), and with all that “life” happening around him, of course the seasoned producer has been able to keep firing on all cylinders, here cranking out perhaps my favorite in his storied catalog, a new cassette for Geographic North, the latest in the imprint’s recent surge of aesthetically-aligned releases on the format. And while you hate to go ahead and call something an artist’s best-yet or masterpiece or something hyperbolic like that (hyperbole? Who, me?), Data in the Details sure does feel like the view from the top — a wide vista of a macro/micro-pointilist audio composite. Wow, what did I just write and what does it mean?!

Data in the Details is one of those pieces of music that is almost intimidating to search for the right adjectives when its title just says it all. There are two different approaches to one musical idea here, split between the A and B sides that both paint grand pictures with broad strokes of melody, harmony and rhythm. But each is done in a fragmented way with microscopic bits of sound. it makes you wonder if you’re looking at something huge, or maybe something really, really small, only so close up that the details themselves become larger, more significant.

All things — matter, electricity, sound — are made up of building blocks. M. Sage just happens to use billions of them to construct his sculptures, which is why the perspectives you can have when listening to Data in the Details are so many and myriad and fluid. Both sides give a nice bubble-bath of beauty, the A side a back-scratcher for sure, but the B side and its “Mover Isuzu Dub Edit” has a bounce that’s tough to not play favorite to. Stream or download both to your heart’s content, and grab the limited tape release over at Geo North before they are gone.

• M. Sage:
• Geographic North:

Young Thug & Rich Homie Quan

Rich Gang: The Tour Part 1

Mmmm… I’m feeling blessed up rn. I’ve been doing the Birdman hand rub all day (and yes, it looks as creepy as it sounds). It’s all thanks in part to the hubbies, and shout out Birdman for the assist too. They’ve blessed the planet earth with the first installment of their Rich Gang: The Tour mixtape series. The whole g’damned thing slaps too, back-to-back. Real talk, Rich Gang are about to put the molliwop on every collaborative project this side of Black Portland. So don’t worry about those Gucci Mane leftovers we’ve been getting used to from Thugger lately, and the filler tracks that have plagued earlier releases from these two seem to be absent here for the most part as well. This is a surprisingly SKRONG body of work. Cop the mixtape and get to sweatin’.

• Young Thug:
• Rich Homie Quan:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.