Anthony Dicap

“06/14 MIX 4 SAUL”

It’s hard to place Anthony Dicap’s taste into one genre, but by mixing club, grime, hip hop, and do-I-smell-a-touch-of-EDM, the Brooklyn based DJ curates a mix that is, in one word, relentless. In his MIX 4 SAUL (also featured on the “BOYFRIENDS KIKI INTERNACIONAL RADIO SHOW”), he describes his sounds as futuristic, which is fitting and probably more realistic than the sounds other electronic music is imagining. Dicap plays with predicting a future than is as gritty and real as the world today, not one that is filled with lasers and flying cars. This mix, too, is filled with references to radio hip hop that humble and allow Dicap to be more experimental at other points of the curation. And, of course, Dicap does what he does best: proving that the queer NY scene bangs real hard.

• Anthony Dicap:

Puce Mary


Puce Mary’s vantage point in “Courses” is a summit of the Swiss Alps, where she glares down at the listeners as they ride the rails. An alphorn player duets ceremonially with Puce Mary, whose voice, affected with chorus, sounds as though it is submerged underwater, or interrupted by vortices and swarms of bees. Her voice is processed to the point of wordlessness: the lyrics become arbitrary; the listener absorbs the boiling inflections. Schools of high-ghoul sounds and static follow the tide, shifting in the mix from background drift to head of the class. The movement of the vortices, swarms, and schools seems to depend on the in-the-red pulse of a kettledrum, the zen eye of the storm. Thanks to its stubbornness, the pulse grounds the intensity, harnessing our heart rate that wishes to accelerate and to move with the tone-bending tide.

I admit the last paragraph is slipshod, and yet I can’t help but see all the above (all at once) while listening to “Courses:” mountains, alphorns, absorption, whirlwinds, schools of fish, swarms of bees, timpani, tides, storms, rails, and accelerating heart rates.

• Puce Mary:
• Posh Isolation:

Kraken Mare

“Composition for Station V”

Long time pensive ambient and noise-into-drone sound sculptor, (and Retrograde Tapes label owner) Kraken Mare, is usually found brooding over a swamp brimming with baroness, but his good pal Jacob van Loon threw ‘em a stick while stuck in his Den, and gripped old Kraken on that straight profession commission kick. *breathes deep* And as finely tuned Loon is around every curve and corner, line and fill-in, Kraken Mare is right there with him, trailing along grains of synthetic textured patience, keyed with obsidian heavy fingers, and darkly lite vibes. It’s just always kinda nice catching up with a pal and getting shit done on the real. Pick up the phone and get dialing. Get some ink and paper and write that letter. shout out to that friend you haven’t shouted at in a minute and get them words going!

• Kraken Mare:
• Jacob van Loon:

A Winged Victory for the Sullen

“Atomos VI”

A Winged Victory for the Sullen isn’t a complicated group of musicians. Maybe their composure sometimes cracks while creating breathtaking tracks like “Atomos VI,” but typically, their patience for drawn attention from listeners is merely a practice in being elaborate. As everyone’s mind wanders during A Winged Victory for the Sullen, “Atomos VI” (the sixth track of numerically listed tracks on their newest album Atomos out Oct. 6 on Kranky Records and Erased Tapes) lays down a foundation of relief. Something of the Tim Robbins sort when he escapes from Shawshank Prison, yeah. And it’s SUPER relevant that bands like this stick around and continue grinding out music (i.e., that post-rock swag?) so culture doesn’t die, individualism is stifled once more in our self-centered American society, and future generations can see how people worked together on music that’s potentially just as lasting as some familiar overtures and sonatas.

TO REPEAT: I’d be wise of you to scope A Winged Victory for the Sullen’s “Atomos VI” streaming below, and eventually snag their LP Atomos this October 6 via Kranky Records and Erased Tapes:

• A Winged Victory for the Sullen:
• Erased Tapes:
• Kranky Records:

Ballerine Nadiya


SONGS! I forgot about songs! Thankfully, Ballerine Nadiya has extinguished that foolishness with her new self-titled cassette on Singapore Sling. I should really send her some sort of thank you present, ‘cause I was in need of a break from all the beat/noise/collage thangs that’ve been in my listening rotation. Ew, she’s got lyrics, too! Remember those? Was needing some words. [Editor’s Note: LAWLZZZZ, Bort is too fresh!]

Along with her grainy vox, a Casiotone is Ballerine Nadiya’s instrument of choice, helping unleash her pieces-of-mind. Thrown back against a wall of established sounds (which somehow have never really become trite), the angst and frustration of love-living pours through her voice and keyboard. But so does the sweetness and buoyancy of said situation. If you’re alive and not an asshole, you’ll be in familiar territory once you press play.

50 of these pups exists on this Earth, so grip one while you still can, that way you can hold it in your hand and "feel closer" to Ballerine Nadiya. Otherwise, stream below, and feel alone.

• Ballerine Nadiya:
• Singapore Sling Tapes:



  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.