“Bumper 4x4”

Grime comes from garage and dancehall, but bassline DJ Sharda shows that garage combined with dancehall doesn’t always equal grime. “Bumper 4x4” is fully garage and fully dancehall at the same time. All of Sharda’s productions have that dual identity of being cross-genre and full genre, largely because of his tendency to preserve full vocals and create a beat that drives forward in a linear fashion. But don’t think you’ve figured out Sharda because of that. The element of surprise is fully present in his work (reference his Jennifer Hudson remix). “Bumper 4x4” is part of a collection of fun little experiments called THE WORLD CARNIVAL ZIP presented by HIPSTER’S DON’T DANCE and SWING TING.

• Sharda:


“On This Day…”

“On This Day…” Morkebla just subtly slayed your psyche. As if your mind was a garden of soft fruits and Morkebla tiptoes through the entirety of it, stepping on nearly every one, but you’ve no idea until you go to think of something, but the memory has long-since faded under the weight of silent maliciousness. Exploring for inconsistencies is also a journey best left alone, as you’ll begin, forget where you started and why, continue hearing a voice in your head that MAYBE is telling you, “Dislodge,” which I take as a direct threat to my ears, but is none-the-less exciting, so I gotta stick around and listen.

“On This Day…” is a solid mixture between Tank Tapes’s haunting qualities and Innercity’s sample/loop technique, but WAY quieter. And Morkebla is JUST the sandman to visit and make drawings out of your memories instead of planting in new ones. Sort of like twisting past occurrences and how they’re recollected through the will of exposure and rot. Fall through the gaping hole that once was nodes full of memories and enjoy the blistering bliss that is “On This Day…” delivered by Morkebla streaming below:

Morkebla is releasing a new album on INDOLE RECORDS and Reckno soon, which will contain entirely new material.

• Morkebla:
• Where To Now Records:


Teleseparation EP

Denver neo-kraut astronauts Woodsman capped off this year’s eponymous LP with “Teleseparation,” a chunk of psych euphoria draped in delay trails that stands on its own as a primer of the trio’s compositional strategies. Interwoven twin guitar leads chime through a cyclical melodic pattern telegraphed to Earth via the flickerings of some pentatonic pulsar, while the grid laid out by the drums tightens into a confident underpinning with enough momentum to push the proceedings into a washed out climax. The track’s “final” cut sheds some light on the band’s studio practice of compressing discrete segments of longer takes into concise narrative collages packed with peak shred content. While certain licks and rhythms crossed over onto wax, much of the journey that bookended those chosen moments could have feasibly never left the session file on the hard drive, laid to rest in the sub-zone limbo strewn with decades of Klaus Schulze outtakes and edition-of-none proto-Emeralds cassette jammers.

Lucky us, then, that Woodsman unearthed the master session of “Teleseparation,” and has prepped it for public consumption in all of its exploratory glory. If the album take represents a pure distillation, the 27 minutes of the Teleseparation EP premiering below document a gradual unfolding of a kernel of an idea into a suite of juxtaposed atmospheres that each possess a mechanism for forward motion. Instead of settling too deep into any one groove, the three instrumentalists work through each segment to heighten the tension to a breaking point and burst into the next wave of animated three-mind interplay. Across the fluid trajectory of the jam, the guitars lay out a stream of droning textural pads and bright chordal comping before ascending into crisp co-leads that channel the weight and drama of crenscendo-core post-rock burners like EITS or Do Say Make Think. All the while, the percussion’s crystalline pulse beats alongside the guitars in hi-fi clarity, cresting into a breakneck pattern around the halfway mark that stands as the piece’s most kinetic, hypnotizing passage.

The Teleseparation EP is available to order on limited edition cassette right now. Catch Woodsman on tour in Europe this summer, or revisit their self-titled LP on Fire Talk to receive their distilled transmissions whensoever you please.

• Woodsman:
• Fire Talk Records:

Thy Slaughter


Hotly tipped for massive things, Thy Slaughter has just smashed into the Vodafone Big Top 40 at #6 with her upbeat summer anthem “Bronze.”

Thy Slaughter dropped by Tiny Mix Tapes to talk about her chart rival Kane West, her musical influences, filming the “Bronze” video in sunny Jamaica, and how she was working in HMV not too long ago.

The interview is still being uploaded, but keep refreshing your browser/re-loading our ads. Meanwhile, check out the good vibes “Bronze” here:

• PC Music:

Splice Girls

“S/T Preview”

Make sure you’re properly stretched out (don’t want you to sprain or strain anything… I got you) before you press play on the preview for the Splice Girls’ upcoming self-titled release, out sometime in October, ‘casue you’re gonna be a dancing — Benes style.

These ladies popped up on my radar out of the blue, and now I’m blue in the face with time spent on Mel D and Mel Z’s SoundCloud page (and there’s only TWO tracks, the other being the fractured FIRE that is “Wee Light Departed”). Munched up tape loops being reassembled into fucked-up feet-burners that induce pitted out pits, panting, and eyes-closed-in-deranged-happiness = Smilestown, USA for this chap, and I’m guessing for any of you lucky ducks who venture into Spliced World.


• Splice Girls:
• Splice Girls:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.