Andy Boay

In The Light

When I heard Andy Boay was releasing an album called In the Light, I figured I was gonna get some Zepp in my life. Was really #PRAYING for that end jam to pop up somewhere. Oh, well. Guess this’ll do. Actually, this will really do. And In the Light is kinda Zepp-y, after all. But it’s also characteristically Beach Boys-y and Doo-wop-y. Noisy and hyper, too. So many things combining together in one place. Definitely fucked and freaked and free. True to the past, but still progressive. A celebration of impermanence in endlessness. Frightened positivity. Strayed homestyle. Sacred exploration. Take ‘em to church, AB!

Recently birthed into the physical world (fuck you internet!), copies of In the Light are still obtainable, so all you good little consumers can go ahead and fill that 4” x 3” hole in your lives. And if your feeling especially consumptive and greedy, Andy’s brothery-united rock and/or roll band Tonstartssbandht just released some jazz too (streaming here and here). Check it all out! I dare you!

• Andy Boay:

Looks Realistic


Bugged on all of the same color/design/mind-hologram, Looks Realistic harnesses that true-to-name swag, providing exactly what’s needed in visual form for single “SUPERCLARENDON” off their newest Beer on the Rug release VA/A. There’s almost a game to be played here within the sound’s breadth and scope of illusion via video. As if the confusion between the two draws you closer and closer to your monitor. Is it the flicker of light? Could the Looks Realistic trans-gaze-lock be that pulsating drone beckoning you toward a higher sensation of aura?

“SUPERCLARENDON” really begins to reveal itself around the three-minute-thirty mark when that synth line comes in, worshing out all the nonsense, and gets straight to living. Looks Realistic’s music WAS the one pulling me in. That call-to-arms initial lull, harkening what lingers and sits inside us all, stirs a fury of energy in listeners’ stomachs and… well Looks Realistic basically makes the sorta music (now-our-daze) is what makes riots and protests happen. So expect the faces of Joe Bastardo & Ryan Mulhall to dawn the front cover of Time as “Person of the Year” this coming December, ‘cause if they’re not moving bowels, then they moving crowds of people against the established order of what is right within – not only this country but – the world, leading people to… SHIT! Ah… shit, conveniently I split Beer on the Rug. ‘_’

Pre-order VA/A by Looks Realistic IMMEDIATELY from Beer on the Rug and continue living life without regrets.

• Looks Realistic:
• Beer on the Rug:



“Eggs” is one of those songs for when there’s no more coffee in the pot and you have to walk to work through the rain because the street has turned to custard. It’s just as well too, because the sky looks mushy and it might leak onto your clothes if you don’t bring an umbrella.

Waking up feeling like play-doh, MNDSGN threw his fingers heavy and fat on the bass, mashing a lethargic groove as the rain washed the custard streets into an oozing river. The thump of the kick sends fingers of custard up the walls outside his house as the river plods along apathetically. In direct contrast to the woozy bass and keys, the tom hits are mechanically precise, and cut through the hot tape hiss. MNDSGN’s vocals sound like a junkie out of claymation Pulp Fiction. That tape hiss though… that tape hiss is the Sound of the Summer 2014, and its going to be frying eggs on every sidewalk for a lonnng time to come.

When the sun comes out later, (if at all) and the custard droplets morph into spastic yellow birds that flap their milky wings.

MNDSGN’s newest tape Surface Outtakes is available TODAY-TODAY in the ltd. quantity of 30 via Leaving Records and the rest are on Stones Throw, so get HYPE!

• Leaving Records:
• Stones Throw Records:

Eleventeen Eston

“Two Stroke Vertical Climb”

As grainy as its sounds, the video for “Two Stroke Vertical Climb” calms breezes with the white-washed strings of Eleventeen Eston’s trusty guitar, and blurs out a blend of that age-old Not Not Fun esoterica fans are always interested in absorbing. Like being played on crackling pool, mini-golf, drive-thru, and telephone speaker system, Eleventeen Eston takes listeners back to a place in their mind – opposed to time – where “Two Stroke Vertical Climb” has been a familiar song to you your entire life. Anytime is right. Every gust is a paradise. Mists of sea and salt coat your body. “Two Stroke Vertical Climb” leaves you sweatless. And Eleventeen Eston has done good in the name of peace

Head to Not Not Fun’s store and grip Eleventeen Eston’s newest tape Delta Horizon (limited to 100), scope Britt’s description, LAWLZ like a true fan, and Hi-Vis your next Perth vacation ASAP!

• Eleventeen Eston:
• Not Not Fun:



The future: coral is bleached into extinction, due to acidification in the hot pot. No frogs in the trees; no trees at all. Most species are shadows, entries in encyclopedias; our pals (cockroaches, bacteria, rats) go where we go. We move as one. The air is toxic; one puff of the stuff and we puff up with malignant tumors. The factories sell their privatized air and water at premium prices, ending class warfare. The survivors supplement the H2O + O2 diet with electricity and pill powder. They go to museums to check out the natural world. In one exhibit, they get the chance to swim in a colorful, virtual coral reef. For some of their offspring, its their first exposure to color. While the survivors, or tourists, splash around, Jon Burkhart’s (Hylidae) “Coral” enhances the experience, with its gorgeous mod synth / guitar harmonics and its temperate tempo. As they dive deeper, past colonies of “surreal” coral, one tourist declares, “Oh, isn’t this lovely!”

• Hylidae:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.