Various Artists: Rootnote Collective

Six Deep

Wasn’t spring great? I know it’s technically over and all, but it still feels like it’s going on to me, so I’m gonna run with that. Spring (don’t you sass me!) is that time of year when the beat-slingers start piling up release after release, shaking off the cobwebs of dormant winter months and sharing their excavations with the world. And here’s some proof. Pulling together every button slapper from their twenty-deep roster, the collective known as Rootnote has got the goods for you with loads of diverse yet deeply rooted (couldn’t resist) tracks. If (beat)variety is the spice of life, then be prepared to build yourself a spice rack.

Stream it below, or pay a measly two bucks to own the whole thing (but can music really be owned, man?).

• Rootnote Collective:

FKA twigs

“Two Weeks”

Facebook LIKE-EMPEROR and TMT gold-boy, Paul Bower threw this FKA twigs video of “Two Weeks ” out to our writer forum the other day and I couldn’t help but snag the beauty and share it on Chocolate Grinder. And if you thought FKA twigs was infallible up to this point, then “Two Weeks ” will continue you along that mode of thinking. OOHHHHHHHHHHHHHH-kay, fuck it. I just pre-ordered the special edition of LP1 on the FKA twigs website ‘cause, not only am I a sucker, but my fiancee will appreciate it, for sure.

Damn, do y’all think FKA twigs can make things happen with her voice? LOL – I mean BEYOND what’s humanly possible for anyone to do. Like, can she make things float with her voice, or change the shape/direction of her facial features, or turn great into gold? Fuck you if this idea seems silly to you. You’re probably just banking off this post for more value to sell off your physical music collection one day. Please. Hang on to LP1. FKA twigs’ voice is the future of health care. Prepare to hear a lot more of this chanteuse as your life expands and see how the healing touch of singing can help us all!

LP1 is out on Young Turks August 11, but you can pre-order the CD/LP/Deluxe LP from the FKA twigs website below.

• FKA twigs:
• Young Turks:

jeremy kennedy

“good phones, heavy phones (part 1)”

The switch is flipped toward hand-strummed glitch. The dying circuits vaporize, cut with used detergent, and reappear on a copper bracelet. The copper leaves a ghoulish green ring.

The switch is flipped again, turning on buzz dynamics, capable of time travel, running on low batteries. Manipulated time does a three-point turn in a parked-up turnaround. On the driver’s side, the tire’s flat plug flaps a raspberry.

The switch breaks off and rolls across the table of gear like a copper coin. It is caught right before a free fall, then kissed in return for its good luck. A half-second has passed.

Back in place, the switch turns its attentions to a folk stone. The stone is gouged to pebbles. Chunks of debris rest at the feet of the sculptor. His carving tool is dropped. It skids across the lacquered floor and bounces off the debris.

Whichever way the switch is flipped, jeremy kennedy activates drupelets of minimal chaos, forming a pop-length piece of sweet odds and evens.

Listen to “good phones, heavy phones (part 1)” by jeremy kennedy below and dig on the process:

• fmsmprc:

This Will Destroy You


There’s no better place in the U.S. for the massive, earth-shaking sounds of post-rock than Texas. The Lone Star State is home to two of the genre’s most enjoyable and unpretentious acts, Explosions In the Sky and This Will Destroy You, the focus of this piece. I was lucky enough to catch the group at their sold out Seattle show this spring, and they knew how to bring the drama with their cascading waves of guitar and drums. In addition to their recent bout of touring, lead guitarist Christopher Royal King put out a stellar solo album under the alias Symbol, and traces of his Online Architecture LP seep into the margins of “Dustism,” the first track off of TWDY’s upcoming record, Another Language, due out September 16th via Suicide Squeeze Records, Hobbledehoy Records, and Holodeck. The track contains the familiar post-rock elements, including delicate guitar interludes and a rising crescendo of a finale; however, the thing that make “Dustism” stick out are the way the group incorporates snippets of Royal King’s gorgeously warped ambient work into different sections. It’s a thrilling track to take in, especially as the summer sun begins to warm things up in my neck of the woods. Stream “Dustism” below and check out TWDY’s Facebook page for pre-order info and tour dates.

• This Will Destroy You:
• Suicide Squeeze Records:
• Holodeck Records:
• Hobbledehoy Records:


“Leave the Lights On”

The New York City based quartet Mainland are praising their city and the vintage aesthetic with their newest video for the song “Leave the Lights On,” directed by Casey Stein and shot on super 8mm film. Depicting members of the band “enjoying the first days of spring” skating from Chinatown to Harlem, the video is a colorful documentary of happiness and vivid urban life happening in New York, making one believe it was really shot in the distant 80’s (save for a few modern cars). The torn jeans, the t-shirts, the skateboards and the longboards -the spirit of the sunkissed old rock is well alive in this piece, with an infectious guitar line to hook and a solid bass and drum section which gives it an almost krautrocky, motorik feel. You can also get a glimpse of Empire State Building in few of the shots.

• Mainland:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.