Genetics and Windsurfing

Audio Stream Continuum

The eternally intriguing Orange Milk Records brings us into 2014 with a super-duper batch of cassettes, including a fantastically zany new tape by Genetics and Windsurfing. Describing the six-track tape is increasingly implausible with each revisit: it’s capricious and tireless, enigmatic yet palpable. Once familiar experimental textures are distressed, stretched, and flung into an unknown space-time continuum where erraticism is erotic. The tape sprouts tangibility in it’s progression, ending in a sloshing crunchy march that feels like a certain predisposed catharsis from the previous five tracks. Listening to the Audio Stream Continuum is a heuristic experience; it pressurizes and twists subjectivity out of objectivity. If I were to wake up weightless, in a dark room, with Audio Stream Continuum in my ears, I don’t think I would be confused. Try it yourself via the stream below:

• Genetics and Windsurfing:
• Orange Milk:

Young Thug

“Hundreds (I Had a Dream)” / “No Fuck” / Black Portland mixtape

Last year, Young Thug released the highly acclaimed 1017 Thug; this year, he’s following the trapjectory laid out before him when he released that fantastic breakthrough mixtape. Actually, he’s sorta blowing up: the man recently signed to Future’s Freebandz imprint, and both Kanye West and Drake were recently caught blasting “Danny Glover” (which was leaked late last year, but was officially released this year via DJ Service Pack and included on the PeeWee Longway-hosted Lobby Runners mixtape).

Today, we have two new Young Thug tracks: “Hundreds (I Had a Dream),” which was released yesterday with Meek Mill in tribute to Martin Luther King Jr.; and “No Fuck,” off Young Thug’s joint Black Portland mixtape with Bloody Jay, which is due later today. Check both tracks below, and brace yourself as we head deeper into a year that’ll surely see and hear more of Young Thug’s unhinged, idiosyncratic rap/singing/wailing, including a single with Future and mixtapes with PeeWee Longway and Rich Homie Quan.

• Young Thug:

Sun Araw


Like walking past someone talking on their phone in a hallway, “Huff” – and everything Sun Araw post-Ancient Romans (TMT Review) – begins super conscious and meticulous in vocals. As if Cameron Stallones knows you’re listening in and doesn’t want you to get the wrong idea, cause it’s, “All right, tell ‘em!” But as we’ve all come to expect, “Huff” is another eight minute burner track wherein Sun Araw continues to onslaught of psyche-and-go swag. And as most phone talkers move into more public/compacted areas, ears get filled with sound, and so does the progression of instrumentals in “Huff:” beat inversion, reversed werps, flute-offs, and keys tapping and wobbling. In the city you can walk past a dozen people saying something like, “And if he’s not my uncle, I’m not sucking” or “Tell ‘em his legs are already broken,” or just [yelling]. Well, Stallones really maxes out all his musical abilities in the end of “Huff,” shredding open a conversation of unspoken words that everyone “gets.”

Get B E L O M A N C I E, the seventh full-length album from Sun Araw, mastered by Rashad Becker, and available on 2xLP or CD or as a digital download on Feb. 18 via Sun Ark and Drag City. Stream first track “Huff” below and veggg:

• Sun Araw:
• Drag City:

Have A Nice Life

“Dan And Tim, Reunited By Fate”

If you submit yourself in full to Have a Nice Life, the listening experience has the potential to paralyze, by virtue of both the tones that the Connecticut-based duo smashes into your skull and the disparate ideas they shoehorn into improbably compact aural spaces. The strategies they employ to sneak past your defenses might not even register. You’ll look down a few minutes after a track ends to find a heart-shaped cavity slowly leaking blackened chest-goo onto the hardwood floor. The words I write stand as flimsy straw men in the open field, stranded on their poles, waiting for the winds of The Unnatural World to arrive and bowl them over again.

“Dan And Tim, Reunited By Fate” reunites Dan Barrett and Tim Macuga by fate, six years after the monumental Deathconsciousness. The pair cherrypick tropes from a number of bleak traditions: reverb-drenched industrial beats; doom-metal sludge; shoegaze drones conjured from effects pedals; post-punk bass chuggery; a plaintive piano+static post-rock crescendo. If this buffet of pan-genre depression seems ready to crumble under its own weight, HANL hold it together by matching their compositional ambitions with idiosyncratic recording and production techniques. The duo demonstrates a willingness to abandon the equilibrium of a mix at any moment with the onset of a torrential lead voice or a left turn in structure, spiking the track down into new depths of depravity over and over until the coda provides a reprieve. Vocals float somewhere behind the guitar screech and only the highs can tear out of the haze. Drum tones remain consistent as a series of conflicting atmospheres seize control. “Dan and Tim” tapers off and Dan and Tim head back into the woods.

If you let it, The Unnatural World can take over you. It arrives February 4 via The Flenser (in collaboration with HANL’s own Enemies List imprint).

• Have A Nice Life:
• The Flenser:
• Enemies List:


“Fluid Silhouettes”

We ❤ Arca. The Venezuelan producer’s most recent two releases — Stretch 2 and &&&&& — made our last couple year-end lists, and he has already started off 2014 with a bang, having just announced a vinyl release of &&&&& and now with this new track, “Fluid Silhouettes.” Here, Arca teams with visual artist Jesse Kanda, a frequent collaborator who was responsible for one of 2013’s more memorable videos, the Arca-produced FKA twigs track, “Water Me.” And no surprise, the partnership works incredibly well again, with Arca’s grotesque, fluid musical transformations finding visual accompaniment in Kanda’s liquid, mannerist figures and shapes, all designed to reflect the “experimental forms” of designer clothing store SSENSE’s Spring 2014 collections: the look and sound of digital androgyny, 2014.

Meanwhile, look for a new Arca album this year on Hippos in Tanks. (!!!!!)

• Arca:
• Jesse Kanda:



  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.