Simon Henneman

Black Magic & Mustache [full-album stream]

Hey dude: check out Black Magic & Mustache by Simon Henneman. Not only does he play every instrument on the record, but he also clearly knows his way around the penny whistle. This limited-to-300 nugget was released last week on Assophon.

• Simon Henneman:
• Assophon:

Eleanor Friedberger

“My Mistakes”

In my spare time, I watch According to Jim. In Eleanor Friedberger’s spare time, she records a full-length album. INDEED: On July 12, Friedberger is temporarily breaking away from The Fiery Furnaces (like her sibling Matthew) to release Last Summer. Her solo debut will be released July 12. Expect a supporting tour, too.

[Photo: Renee Fentress]

John Maus


Watch the video for the closing track from John Maus’ upcoming We Must Become The Pitiless Censors Of Ourselves. I’ve got to say, there is something sad and beautiful about this combination of sound and visual, the way that so many elements – Maus’ affected voice, psychedelic digital color manipulation, the tiny drum machine, manic synth lines – all fail to obscure how soaring of a pop song “Believer” is.

• John Maus:
• Ribbon Music:


“Pacific Temple”

Attention echo-y, shimmering drone lovers: Higuma — Evan Caminiti (Barn Owl) and Lisa McGee — have a new album entitled Pacific Fog Dreams on Root Strata.

Attention everyone else: I hear Foo Fighters have a new album out.

• Root Strata:



The TMT staff is in love with Noveller, so we’re kinda obligated to post the new video for “Ends,” directed by Chris Habib. The track is off the drastic classicist’s new album, Glacial Glow, due May 30 on Weird Forest/Saffron. (via Stereogum)

• Noveller:
• Weird Forest:
• Chris Habib:


  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.


Click here to apply