Foxes in Fiction & Benoît Pioulard

“Ground Glass”

Ever since releasing his very homemade debut ambient pop album Swung from the Branches way back at the beginning of 2010, followed by the 7-song EP Alberto that came out at the end of that year, Foxes in Fiction’s Warren Hildebrand has been putting music out consistently, if a bit sporadically, and always referencing the transition from free-form scatter towards more traditionally structured songwriting, as evidenced on his first two major releases.

The lead track off of Foxes in Fiction’s new 7-inch — titled “Ground Glass” and due February 28 on Wool Recordings — finds Hildebrand in collaboration with kindred spirit Thomas Meluch, better known as Benoît Pioulard, with both only further exploring that post-Slowdive juncture where walls of sound and noise meet shape and form.

Hear the new song by Foxes in Fiction and Benoît Pioulard below or at Wool Recordings’ SoundCloud.

• Foxes in Fiction:
• Benoît Pioulard:
• Wool Recordings:


Surely Reliable

Ventla, a one-man recording project from actual Japan (/not future-fetish Japan), has released his fantastic 21st free album (of 100), titled Surely Reliable. Somewhat of an extension of his previous volume, Fansubbed Last Words, this 28-minute episode marks Ventla’s self-aware foray into the vaporwave movement. But unlike the sample-screw-release process of the vaporwave everyman, Ventla actually composes and records his own thought leader anthems and executive lounge dance jams, the cassette hiss you hear no DAW preset but every bit the real deal. Free to incorporate influences far beyond the wholesale muzak norm (new jack, chiptune and YMO, to name a few obvious ones on Reliable), Ventlan vaporwave arguably bests the flagging movement’s erstwhile heroes in sheer musicality and replay value — though some may posit that his tactics run counter to vaporwave’s possibly subversive and demi-academic intent. Whatever; try bumping “ATRAC 4 Swing” and act like you mind.

Download here or listen via Soundcloud.

• Ventla:

Brandon Locher

Conversations (Revisited)

So, the trip of this IS… you cannot listen to Conversations (Revisited) with the lights out. Like, immediately, I think the Jerky Boys. Then I’m thinking, “Boiii, Brandon, is you doing all these calls?” But I start to realized, as I’d said – with the lights out – there’s a VERY haunting effect to this. I mean I feel guilty. I can’t say anything to these people. FUCK, this is stressful, but real-real. Right? Conversations (Revisited) is making my dog bug OUT. So, then I start taking a leak, and it felt like I was disrupting something with the noise of my bowl echoing piss, and WHOA! Is Brandon “crossing-lines?” WHOA! No, yes, he IS!! Wow, people really get on this, Larry. Hello, Larry, yo!! I want this soundboard. Holy moly, this is recorded trolling on a WHOLE new level. Not only do IIIIII feel a mess of guilt, but I’m bearing audio witness to the most elaborate troll scheme EVER. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAnd I cannot walk to my bedroom now without freaking out at the mere resemblance of a visage. If I see a face besides my girls, I’m smashing it in Irreversable-style. I’m thinking I’d just start talking to Audre. Paul? Oh shit, I gotta call Paul about dress code, cause I want a rocking Vegas outfit. Nowww, I gotta stop. This track has brought the devil out in me, and there’s too much “ME” and “I” in this post for my liking. So… without establishing character or voice or pronoun: BYE!! YOU called CHUCKY’S dad? Also, when you stop Conversations (Revisited) it feels like these voices are just trapped in this audio forever. As though being prey to the quiet caller absorbed a momentary bit of being through the receiver and into Brandon Locher’s recorder. CONCLUSION: beware, for this release is joyfully maddening.

• Brandon Locher:

Dean Blunt


On May 1, our lives will change for[ever/the better] when Dean Blunt — provocateur, stalker, and all-around cute guy — releases his first “proper” solo album, The Redeemer on Hippos In Tanks/World Music. To get you excited, Blunt just released a track from the album titled “Papi,” which features clear-as-day vocals over a sample of Pink Floyd’s “Echoes.” It ends with a canny New Year’s countdown, unsettling and awkward, as it should be.

• Dean Blunt & Inga Copeland:
• Hippos In Tanks:

Animal Collective


So, when I first heard “Applesauce” off the last AnCo album Centipede Hz, it was WAY my jam-shit. I mean, it’s still my jam-shit, but director Gaspar Noé just made “Applesauce” that much more MORE MORE in this here new video for the track. And I ain’t gotta say the obvious, but creative interpretation is just OOZING in this video. I love it. It’s also totally questionable if this video is work appropriate. I’ve been flicking back and forth through the thought of guilt this entire time. COLORS ARE EVERYWHERE RIGHT NOW!!!

• Animal Collective:
• Domino:


CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.