M. Ward


As we reported in ye olde news section, a tribute album to Joanna Newsom is being released today to benefit Oxfam America. It’s called Versions of Joanna. M. Ward’s “Sadie” is featured on the album, as well as covers by Billy Bragg, Owen Pallett, and Ben Sollee. Unless you hate Oxfam America, you should consider buying this compilation.

• Versions of Joanna: http://versionsofjoanna.com
• Oxfam America: http://www.oxfamamerica.org

Flying Lotus

“Zodiac Shit”

“Zodiac Shit.” Cosmogramma (TMT Review). Flying Lotus. Adult Swim. Chocolate Grinder. Tiny Mix Tapes Gone to Heaven.

• Flying Lotus: http://flying-lotus.com
• Warp: http://warp.net

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

“Storm” (live at ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas)

Godspeed You! Black Emperor played three presumably awesome sets at ATP’s Nightmare Before Christmas in Minehead, England. Consequence of Sound found some clips on YouTube, so if you’ve never experienced GY!BE live before, ruin it now with these grainy vids.

• GYBE: http://www.1119732.net
• ATP: http://www.atpfestival.com

Chocolate Grinder Mix 42

“I’ll Eat Your Soul”

Yep, this mix is named after one of the best lines from Evil Dead 2, “Tribute” by Tenacious D, “Come To Daddy” by Aphex Twin, and probably a hundred other films and songs. It looks pretty serious on paper, and yet, in context, it is often served on a bed of dark humor. There are some heavy moments on this mix — a Norwegian death growl, two slices of Candlelight rage, and a righteous Anticon political anthem — but there are flashes of that silver lining among these grey clouds, just to bring a glint of levity to the situation. After all, it is a fine line between being somber and being a buzz kill.

01. Triclops! - “Until All The Threads Are Stripped” (Helpers On The Other Side)
Start time: 0:00; Links: Alternative Tentacles - Triclops!

02. Ingested - “Cremated Existence” (Surpassing The Boundaries Of Human Suffering)
Start time: 4:49; Links: Candlelight - Ingested

03. Adam Green - “Big Lips” (Musik For A Play)
Start time: 8:08; Links: Contraphonic - Adam Green

04. Radian - “Git Cut Noise” (Chimeric)
Start time: 9:39; Links: Thrill Jockey - Radian

05. Son Lux - “WEAPONS IV (Nico Muhly Remix)” (Weapons EP)
Start time: 15:21; Links: Anticon - Son Lux

06. DJ Food - “Extract From Stolen Moments” (The Shape Of Things That Hum EP)
Start time: 19:16; Links: Ninja Tune - DJ Food

07. Aun - “Fall Out” (Split EP w/ Habsyll)
Start time: 23:01; Links: Public Guilt - Aun

08. The Splinters - “Sea Salt Skin” (Kick)
Start time: 28:33; Links: Double Negative - The Splinters

09. Shining - “Exit Sun, Pt. 1” (Blackjazz)
Start time: 31:21; Links: Indie - Shining

10. Ihsahn - “A Grave Inversed” (After)
Start time: 39:54; Links: Candlelight - Ihsahn

[Artwork: Keith Kawaii]

Big Boi

“The Train Pt. 2”

Big Boi’s beautiful, dark, twisted fantasy.

• Big Boi: http://bigboi.com


  • Recent
  • Popular

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.


Click here to apply